Research Guides: Government Information: Education

Education

Educational Resources from Government Agencies The Government Information for Children (GIC) site identifies government information (documents, databases, resources) produced by local, state, Federal, and international governmental organizations for use by K-12 teachers and students.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. The ERIC website is offered free for public use by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education.
Federal Student Aid Learn about and apply for financial aid using the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) form.
LINCS Community, Courses, and Resources for Adult Education The LINCS Community is a community of practice (COP) for adult education practitioners funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE). This professional learning space brings together adult educators worldwide to work together toward one common goal—providing high-quality, evidence-based learning opportunities to adult students.
National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Education. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES). NCES has a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
National Library of Education The National Library of Education serves as the federal government's primary education information resource to the public, education community, and other government agencies. The Library's current collection, in print and electronic formats, focuses on education and includes subject matter such as economics, law, psychology, and sociology, as they relate to education.
Smithsonian Institution The Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 21 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.
US Department of Education ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. The US Department of Education establishes policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributes and monitors those funds. Other responsibilities include collecting data on America's schools and disseminating research, focusing national attention on key educational issues, and prohibiting discrimination, ensuring equal access to education.
College Navigator Browse and compare

State Government Pages for Students and Teachers

Arkansas Includes Arkansas history, games, activities, classroom presentations, capitol videos and more.
Missouri Need to do a school report about Missouri’s state history, famous Missourians, state symbols, or how Missouri’s state government works? Here are some links to get you started.
Other State Education Pages

Resources for Professional Educators

Art Lessons, Activities, and Resources Plan a field trip or bring art into your classroom. Find lesson ideas, teaching resources, or professional development opportunities for yourself provided by the National Gallery of Art.
Career and Economic Classroom Resources Classroom activities, posters, videos, and other content from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.
CDC Lesson Plans and Activities K-12 teacher resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Citizenship Resource Center Provided by US Citizenship and Immigration Services, access to resources is designed to supplement classroom study materials and enhance current curriculum.
Civics and Other Educator Resources from the National Archives Access documents related to pivotal moments in American history, teach students how to analyze primary sources, and visit the National Archives virtually through free distance learning opportunities for students and educators.
Climate Change and Human Health Lesson Plans These modules are intended to promote student discovery and learning about the complex interactions between climate change, the environment and human health, specific to the United States. (Provided by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Don't Use Friends as Bear Bait Coloring Activity National parks are amazing places. Use this coloring activity to promote recommended safety practices for encountering wildlife...instead of using your friend as bear bait.
Drug and Alcohol Education Lessons, activities, and drug facts to educate teens about the effects and consequences of drug use from the National Institute of Drug Abuse.
Economics and Personal Finance Looking for active-learning lessons for your classroom? We have lessons to accompany popular children's books, videos, podcasts and timely articles - all findable by grade.
EDSITEment Lesson Plans & Media Resources from NEH EDSITEment provides access to National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) funded media resources including videos, podcasts, lectures, interactives for the classroom, and film projects. Each resource includes questions to prompt analysis, connections to other NEH-related resources, and links to related EDSITEment lessons and materials.
Energy Kids Find energy related stories, hands-on activities, and research articles for your classroom from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. These curriculum-based lessons are separated by age-grade.
Environmental Health Science (NIH) Search science education materials by grade level. (National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences)
Environmental Science (EPA) Find an array of environmental and science based lesson plans, activities and ideas from the Environmental Protection Agency other federal agencies and external organizations.
Financial Literacy Activities Find activities that can help you teach and nurture the building blocks of financial capability across the curriculum provided by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
K-12 Classrrom Activities from NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Bring the wonder of space to your students. Explore the universe of science, technology, engineering and math activities and resources from the California Institute of Technology.
Kids Environment Kids Health A resource for kids, parents, and teachers to find fun and educational materials related to health, science, and the environment we live in today.
Kids in the House (of Representatives) The mission of the Kids in the House website is to provide educational and entertaining information about the legislative branch of the United States Government to students of all ages. Topics covered include the role of the U.S. House of Representatives, the legislative process, and House history.
Lesson Plans Using Primary Sources Teacher-created lesson plans using Library of Congress primary sources.
NASA Apps and Selfies Smartphone applications are a fun way to learn! The new NASA Selfies app that lets you generate snapshots of yourself in a virtual spacesuit, posing in front of gorgeous cosmic locations, like the Orion Nebula or the center of the Milky Way galaxy.
NASA Climate Kids NASA's Climate Kids website tells the story of our changing planet through the eyes of the NASA missions studying Earth. Targeting kids ages 8 and up, the site is full of games, activities and articles that make climate science accessible and engaging.
NASA Space Place NASA Space Place's mission is to inspire and enrich upper-elementary-aged kids' learning of space and Earth science online through fun games, hands-on activities, informative articles and engaging short videos. With material in both English and Spanish and resources for parents and teachers, NASA Space Place has something for everyone.
National Park Service Lesson Plans National parks are America's largest classrooms. Find lesson plans about these great places.
NOAA Education Portal The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Education Portal is your one-stop shop to connect with learning and teaching resources about the ocean and atmosphere. Discover curricula, lesson plans, and real-time data to bring NOAA science into your classroom. Explore opportunities for educators and students of all levels. Apply for competitive funding for education projects.
NOAA SciJinks NOAA SciJinks inspires and engages students to learn about weather, satellite meteorology and Earth science. Our fun articles, games and videos are targeted toward middle- and high-school aged students and their educators.
Nutrition: Kids' Corner US Department of Agriculture resources teach children the importance of nutrition and physical activity using interactive websites and games.
Peace Corps Cultural and Global Educator Resources The Paul D. Coverdell World Wise Schools program fosters an understanding of other cultures and global issues by providing online educational resources based on the Peace Corps experience and facilitating communication among U.S. learners and current and returned Peace Corps Volunteers.
STEM Lesson Plans for K-12 Teachers The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education is committed to providing relevant educational materials and teacher resources, including activities and lesson plans designed to assist educators in engaging students in STEM subjects.
STEM with LM The US Department of Energy Office of Legacy Management is committed to supporting Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education through "STEM with LM" activities and programming.
Teaching American English Resources for English language teachers around the world from the US Department of State.
USGS Science Lesson Plans Explore classroom lesson plans curated by the US Geological Survey.