Skip to Main Content 
Economics, Data, & Statistics
ALFRED - Archival Economic Data
ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. ALFRED is maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice)
The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. BJS also provides financial and technical support to state, local, and tribal governments to improve both their statistical capabilities and the quality and utility of their criminal history records.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (Department of Labor)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is an agency of the United States Department of Labor. It is the principal fact-finding agency in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as part of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. BLS collects, calculates, analyzes, and publishes data essential to the public, employers, researchers, and government organizations.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (Department of Transportation)
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), part of the Department of Transportation (DOT) is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation.
Census Bureau (Department of Commerce)
The Census Bureau is the federal government’s largest statistical agency. It is dedicated to providing current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Data.gov: The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data
Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government. Data.gov is intended to provide access to government open data to the public, achieve agency missions, drive innovation, fuel economic activity, and uphold the ideals of an open and transparent government.
Economic Research Service (Department of Agriculture)
The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
Energy Information Administration (Department of Energy)
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Federal Enterprise Data Resources (resources.data.gov)
Resources.data.gov is an online repository of policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government.
FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, goes far beyond simply providing data: It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data. In essence, FRED helps users tell their data stories.
HealthData.gov (Department of Health & Human Services)
Contains data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
HUD User Data Sets
HUD provides interested researchers with access to the original datasets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
IPEDS gathers data from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (Department of Agriculture)
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
National Center for Education Statistics (Department of Education)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Education. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES). NCES has a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
National Center for Health Statistics (Department of Health and Human Services)
NCHS collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics. These products and services inform the public and guide program and policy decisions to improve the nation’s health.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation)
NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following broad areas of interest:
Research and development, the science and engineering workforce, U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D, and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States
Office of Homeland Security Statistics
Created in 2023, the Office of Homeland Security Statistics (OHSS) provides reports and statistical data covering a range of topics, including immigration, law enforcement, international trade, and other statistical data.
Prices and Wages by Decade
This guide points to prices and wages found in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s. Our preference is government sources though we also use commercial catalogs, travel guides, newspapers, etc. We point only to publications that are freely available online, and make extensive use of the HathiTrust Digital Library, the FRASER® digital library and the Internet Archive.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
USA Spending
The official source of government spending data.
USDA Agricultural Research Service
Agricultural Research Service programs generate many publicly accessible data products that are catalogued in the Ag Data Commons. These databases, datasets, and data collections may be maintained by ARS or by ARS in cooperation with other organizations.
USDA Economic Research Service
As a federal statistical agency, the mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
USGS Water Data for the Nation
Provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
Missouri City and State Open Data
City of Springfield Open Data
Open data for the city of Springfield Missouri, committed to providing openness and transparency in government.
City of St. Louis Open Data
A collection of City datasets by topic, department, and format
DataKC (Kansas City)
DataKC focuses on supporting data-driven decision-making in city operations and facilitating access to City data for the community.
State of Missouri Data Portal
Missouri datasets from a variety of categories (agriculture, economic development, education, health, transportation, etc.) can be downloaded in Excel for analysis.
Non-Government Sources of US Government Data
Data USA
Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources, Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge.
University Data
Southeast Missouri State University Data & Reports
The Office of Institutional Research keeps records of student enrollment and provides a variety of reports on this public website. These reports include enrollment by major, class status by gender, and ethnicity by gender.
