Research Guides: Government Information: History and Political Science

History and Political Science

Ben's Guide to the US Government Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program. It is our hope that Ben’s Guide to the U.S. Government fulfills that role.
Congress Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.
FBI Records : The Vault The Vault contains 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Included here are many FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on the FBI site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library, and new, previously unreleased files.
FRASER FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
National Archives Access to the National Archives includes primary source documents, photos, military records, and educator resources.
US Citizenship and Immigration Services USCIS is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. We are 19,000 government employees and contractors working at more than 200 offices across the world.
US Courts USCourts.gov contains information regarding the judiciary, including judgeships, court records, jury service, rules of procedure, statistics and reports, and educational resources.
US Department of Justice The mission of the Department of Justice is to uphold the rule of law, to keep our country safe, and to protect civil rights.
US House of Representatives House.gov provides an overview of representatives, legislative activity, upcoming events, and House history.
US Senate Senate.gov provides an overview of senators, legislative activity, upcoming events, and Senate history.
The White House Learn more about the current administration, our country’s former presidents, and the official residence.

Special Library Collections

American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899 This collection offers detailed contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century.
World War I Posters: Answering the Call This is an online collection of over 50 World War I posters held in Milner Library's Government Documents World War Poster Collection. Federal agencies and national organizations created these posters after the United States entered the war in 1917.
World War II: Historic Government Publications from World War II The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War.
World War II: Propaganda on All Fronts: United States and International World War II-Era Posters This is an online collection highlighting a selection of the over 500 World War II posters held in Milner Library's Government Documents World War Poster Collection. Federal agencies and national organizations created these posters after the United States entered the war in 1941.