Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and Archives: The Charles L. Harrison Collection

An overview of the Special Collections and Archives unit of Kent Library, which houses the Regional History Collection, the University Archives and Rare Books and Manuscripts.

About the Collector

 

Charles Luce Harrison (1883-1946) came to southeast Missouri from Ohio with his family in 1898.  His father, William, was involved in the timber operations in the lowlands around Morehouse, Missouri.  As an adult, Charles became an officer in the Himmelberger-Harrison Lumber Company founded by his father and John Himmelberger, and headquartered in Cape Girardeau.

Charles Harrison played a prominent role in the business and civic life of Cape. He was actively involved in the construction of the Hotel Marquette, the Mississippi River Traffic Bridge, the Cape Girardeau Public Library, and an extensive addition to the St. Francis Hospital.

A business man by day, Harrison's passion was books and book collecting.  He described book collecting as his "inexpensive hobby" and allowed himself only $50 a month for the enterprise.  He confessed that this method resulted in books occasionally purchased on the "installment plan." Despite the frugality of his method, Harrison's collecting, which he began in earnest in the 1930s, produced a wonderful library that continues to delight students, scholars and other visitors to Kent Library.  When Harrison passed away in 1944, he willed the collection to the Southeast Missouri State Teachers College.

The Rare Book Room was established in 1968, in Charles Harrison's memory, by a gift from his family. 

   		         

How to access materials

Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:

  • Use materials in the Special Collections Reading Room
  • Complete a first-time user registration form and present valid photo ID
  • Register upon each arrival
  • Use pencils or laptops for note-taking
  • Leave all bags in provided lockers
  • Handle materials as directed by staff

Photocopying and scanning services are available.  Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with Rare Book Room materials.

Individual titles in the Harrison Collection can be located through searching the Kent Library catalog.  Use the Advanced Keyword option to limit your search Location to "SEMO Special Collections."

For information on locating material in the Brodsky-Faulkner or Penn Warren Collection, researchers are encouraged to call or email Special Collections.

University classes, community groups, and schools may schedule Rare Book Room presentations in advance by calling (573) 651-2245.

Contact Info:

Kent Library, Room 308

(573) 651-2245 (phone)

(573) 651-2666 (fax)

URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

What's in the Collection?

The Charles Luce Harrison Collection contains over 800 rare or unusual books, reflecting the "history of the book" from the 13th-early 20th centuries.. 

The collection contains examples of:

  • Manuscripts, 13th century and later
  • Incunabula (1450-1501) and other hand-press period works (through circa 1850)
  • Fine printing
  • Fine binding
  • Illustrated and extra-illustrated works
  • First editions, signed and association copies