Kent Library, Room 308
(573) 651-2245 (phone)
(573) 651-2666 (fax)
URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives
Email: semoarchives@semo.edu
Louis Daniel Brodsky began collecting Faulkner first editions as an undergraduate student at Yale University in the 1960s; and in the span of his collecting career amassed one of the world's four largest collections of Faulkneria.
In addition to his extensive collecting enterprise, Brodsky is a prolific poet and the owner and publisher of Time-Being Books in St. Louis, Missouri.
He has authored 74 volumes of poetry and 25 volumes of prose, including nine books of scholarship on William Faulkner.
For more information on Brodsky, his bibliography and his publishing enterprise, visit his website.
Links to sites with additional information on Faulkner:
Kent Library's Rare Book Room houses one of the world's largest collections of material on Mississippi writer, William Faulkner. The collection contains:
The research material of Joseph Blotner, Faulkner's biographer, is also part of the collection. A finding aid for the Blotner papers in located on the Southeast Missouri Sate University's Center for Faulkner Studies website.
Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:
Photocopying and scanning services are available. Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with Rare Book Room materials.
Individual titles in the Harrison Collection can be located through searching the Kent Library catalog. Use the Advanced Keyword option to limit your search Location to "SEMO Special Collections."
For information on locating material in the Brodsky-Faulkner or Penn Warren Collection, researchers are encouraged to call or email Special Collections.
University classes, community groups, and schools may schedule Rare Book Room presentations in advance by calling (573) 651-2245.
An excellent 7-minute video from the University of Virginia, where Faulkner was the first Writer-in-Residence in 1957 and 1958.