Research Guides: Special Collections and Archives: Digital Projects

Contact Info:

Kent Library, Room 308

(573) 651-2245 (phone)

(573) 651-2666 (fax)

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

What's available online?

The Cape Girardeau Weekly Argus Collection
Original copies of the Cape Girardeau Weekly Argus, a newspaper published in Cape Girardeau, [MO.] Dates range from 1863 Jun 18 - 1871 Jun 1 when publication ceased.

The digitization of images and documents from Special Collections and Archives is an ongoing initiative. Some of the collections, or parts of collections, available online are listed below. Others are available by visiting our digital collections website.

Little River Drainage District photographs
Largely black and white images of the pre and post-drainage landscape of southeast Missouri, construction work, workmen, equipment, and maintenance activities, 1916-1936
Lueders Studio Photographs
The photographs in the digital collection represent the studio’s commercial photography work, not portraiture. Interior and exterior views of Cape Girardeau businesses in the mid-twentieth century are represented here, along with street scenes, images of downtown floods, churches and schools, events and community groups.
Miles Steamboat Photograph Collection
Photographs (48) of twenty six steamboats that operated on the Arkansas, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Tennessee, and Yukon Rivers.
Southeast Missouri State University Photographs
Subject categories of the photographs include: faculty and administrators, commencement, student organizations, athletics, campus social life, and buildings and grounds. Images of campus buildings and grounds are the first priority for digitization; followed by student organizations, athletics and campus social life.

Current Project: "Confluence and Crossroads: The Civil War in the American Heartland"

"Confluence and Crossroads: The Civil War in the American Heartland," is an ongoing initiative to locate, survey, and digitize original, primary source documents pertaining to the time period 1854-1877 for a 28-county region in southeast Missouri and southern Illinois. The counties included in the geographic scope of this project include, in Missouri: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Crawford, Dent, Dunklin, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Wayne, and Washington; and for Illinois: Alexander, Jackson, Pulaski, Randolph, and Union.

If you have original documents pertaining to the project's theme and would be willing to have them digitized for inclusion in this project, please contact Project Manager Ellen Ryan (573-651-2750) for more information.