Special Collections and Archives: University Archives

Kent Library, Room 308

(573) 651-2245 (phone)

(573) 651-2666 (fax)

URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

Browse or search our online collection descriptions and finding aids to locate materials for your next research trip. 

We also offer subject-specific guides to get you started if you have a research topic in mind.

A growing number of documents and images from the collections are now also available online.

Special Collections and Archives houses the archives of Southeast Missouri State University, from its founding as the Southeast Missouri State Normal School in 1873 to the present. Materials included in the University Archives include:

• Board of Regents Minutes
  
• President's Office Records
• Faculty  Senate Minutes
• University Publications
• Photographs and more...

Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:

• Use materials in the Special Collections Reading Room
• Complete a first-time user registration form and present valid photo ID
• Register upon each arrival
• Use pencils or laptops for note-taking
• Leave all bags in provided lockers
• Handle materials as directed by staff

Photocopying and scanning services are available.  Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with archival materials.

Southeast Missouri State University houses the transcripts of the University High School, which operated on its campus from 1896-1987. 

Former students wishing to access their transcripts may do so by submitting a Transcript Request Form to Special Collections and Archives, in person or by mail. 

Requests must be accompanied by a clear copy of a valid photographic ID.  There is a charge of $3 per transcript copy requested. 

Special Collections and Archives also has available for sale back issues of "The Pow-Wow," the yearbook of the University Schools.  For additional information, email us.