Research Guides: Management: News & Current Events

Business News & Current Events

The publications that report on business news can be categorized into popular and trade.

Cover the economy as a whole and and cover major companies, industries, and trends
Written for a broad audience interested in business news
Examples: The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, The Economist, and St. Louis Business Journal

Focus their coverage on a particular industry, market, or profession
Written for an audience of business professionals
More detailed or more specialized coverage of what is in popular business publications
Cover topics that may be get little or no attention in popular business publications
More business-to-business coverage
Examples: Harvard Business Review, Entrepreneur Magazine, Management Today, HR Magazine, Modern Healthcare, and Hotel Management

These databases have strong collections of popular and trade business news publications.

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window This database searches a massive collection of trade publications, newspapers and magazines with strong business coverage, wire feeds, blogs, podcasts, and various other news sources. Limit your results to these sources in the left column of the results page.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window This database searches a large collection of trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. You can search just these sources by checking them in the "Publication Type" section under "Limit your results." You can also view only these sources by using the "Source Types" tool in the left column of the results page

This database specializes in state, municipal, and regional business news.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Searches regional and local newspapers, business magazines, and trade publications.

These databases focus on business and other news outside the United States.

International Newsstream This link opens in a new window Searches over 1,000 international newspapers and other journalism sources, many of which have strong business news coverage.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window Popular and trade business news focused on Asia and Europe, including many sources based in Asian and European countries.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window Canada-focused database with many popular and trade business news sources, including many sources based in Canada.

These search engines focus their search specifically on business and economic news rather than the entire web.