Research Guides: Management: Background Information

What is a Reference Source?

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project by helping you get a foundation in a topic.

Use Reference Sources For

Explanations of management and business terminology,
Overviews of the existing research and best practices on a management topic,
Training on important business skills,
Short biographies of influential thinkers, and
Lists of good sources to start looking at.

Searching for Background Information

These databases and books are good places to get a start on your research.

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Searches dozens of reference titles in management and business.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Searches a number of Oxford business & management reference titles. Many have an international focus.

Individual Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Management Theory by Eric H. Kessler (Editor)
Call Number: Sage ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Overviews major concepts related to the theory of management. Each article is written by an expert on the topic, defines the basics of the concept, explains its importance, discusses its impacts and practical applications, and provides a list of readings for more research.
Encyclopedia of Management (7th ed.) by Sonya D. Hill (editor)
Call Number: GVRL ebook
Publication Date: 2012
Introduces terms, issues, and concepts important to the profession of management. Articles cover major concepts, strategies, theory, and a bibliography of works to investigate.
Business: The Ultimate Resource (3rd ed.) by Jonathan Law (editor)
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Practical, strategic advice on business topics. It has best practices on people & culture, strategy & competition, finance, IT/information management, structure, leadership, corporate social responsibility & governance, renewal & growth, productivity, and personal growth. There are also action lists, summaries of major business & management books, and short biographies of influential managers.
Sage Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (2nd ed.) by Robert W. Kolb (Editor)
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2018
More than 1,200 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
The Ultimate Business Library by Stuart Crainer
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2003
Summaries of major business thinkers and their works from the 20th Century.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by Richard L. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Historical overviews of industries, companies, people, and institutions in U.S. business.

Management

Research Assistance

Message Us

Email Us

Visit Us

Call Us

What is a Reference Source?

Use Reference Sources For

Searching for Background Information

Reference Databases

Individual Reference Books