Research Guides: Art & Art History: Finding Articles

Articles are a great source for focused analysis of art and art history as well as up-to-date information on what is happening in the art world. Kent Library collects articles in scholarly research journals, artistic magazines, and art coverage in general audience magazines and newspapers.

The main way to find articles in the library collection is to use databases. Besides the generalist databases you may have used in first year seminar, fundamentals of oral communication, or English composition, there are subject databases that focus on particular majors and disciplines. You will find much more relevant art coverage in the art subject databases.

Image credit: Hackberry Spheroid (1995) by Edward Moulthrop

Recommended Databases

The following databases have good collections of articles in scholarly journals and artistic magazines related to the arts and art history.

Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the areas including art, design, classical studies, architecture, & cultural studies.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes good access to full text scholarly articles covering the visual arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers visual arts, among many other fields. All articles are full text.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book chapters, with strong art coverage, primarily from university presses.

Art & Art History

Message Us

Email Us

Visit Us

Call Us

Recommended Databases