Research Guides: Art & Art History: Background Information

Reference sources provide background information to help you begin research and build a base of knowledge.

References sources can be used to find:

Examples of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, topic guides, and source books.

Image credit: Scenes from the Nativity (c.1450-1453) by Fra Angelico

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Searches the Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Database of reference sources, including dozens on the fine arts, art history, digital art, and photography.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Searches through multiple Oxford University Press titles, including the Oxford Dictionary of Art & Artists, Oxford Dictionary of American Art & Artists, Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art, and Dictionary of Modern Design.

Getty Publications Virtual Library
Over 250 digitized titles from the Getty's backlist freely available.

Universal Principles of Art by John A. A. Parks
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Presents one hundred principles, fundamental ideas and approaches to making art.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Gerald W. R. Ward
Call Number: Reference 702.8 G9191 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2008
Deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (2nd ed.) by James Hall; Kenneth Clark
Call Number: Reference 704.94094 H143d2 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2008
Explains religious, classical, and historical themes; figures of moral allegory; and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance.

Art & Art History