Better Than Carrots or Sticks by
ASCD Bestseller! Classroom management is traditionally a matter of encouraging good behavior and discouraging bad by doling out rewards and punishments. But studies show that when educators empower students to address and correct misbehavior among themselves, positive results are longer lasting and more wide reaching. In Better Than Carrots or Sticks, longtime educators and best-selling authors Dominique Smith, Douglas Fisher, and Nancy Frey provide a practical blueprint for creating a cooperative and respectful classroom climate in which students and teachers work through behavioral issues together. After a comprehensive overview of the roots of the restorative practices movement in schools, the authors explain how to Establish procedures and expectations for student behavior that encourage the development of positive interpersonal skills; Develop a nonconfrontational rapport with even the most challenging students; and Implement conflict resolution strategies that prioritize relationship building and mutual understanding over finger-pointing and retribution. Rewards and punishments may help to maintain order in the short term, but they're at best superficially effective and at worst counterproductive. This book will prepare teachers at all levels to ensure that their classrooms are welcoming, enriching, and constructive environments built on collective respect and focused on student achievement.
Building Resilience in Students Impacted by Adverse Childhood Experiences by
Use trauma-informed strategies to give students the skills and support they need to succeed in school and lifeNearly half of all children have been exposed to at least one adverse childhood experience (ACE), such as poverty, divorce, neglect, substance abuse, or parent incarceration. This workbook-style resource shows K-12 educators how to integrate trauma-informed strategies into daily instructional practice through expanded focus on: The experiences and challenges of students impacted by ACEs, including suicidal tendencies, cyberbullying, and drugs Behavior as a form of communication and how to explicitly teach new behaviors How to mitigate trauma and build innate resiliency
Fostering Resilient Learners by
In this galvanizing book for all educators, Kristin Souers and Pete Hall explore an urgent and growing issue-childhood trauma-and its profound effect on learning and teaching. Grounded in research and the authors' experience working with trauma-affected students and their teachers, Fostering Resilient Learners will help you cultivate a trauma-sensitive learning environment for students across all content areas, grade levels, and educational settings. The authors-a mental health therapist and a veteran principal-provide proven, reliable strategies to help you: Understand what trauma is and how it hinders the learning, motivation, and success of all students in the classroom. Build strong relationships and create a safe space to enable students to learn at high levels. Adopt a strengths-based approach that leads you to recalibrate how you view destructive student behaviors and to perceive what students need to break negative cycles. Head off frustration and burnout with essential self-care techniques that will help you and your students flourish. Each chapter also includes questions and exercises to encourage reflection and extension of the ideas in this book. As an educator, you face the impact of trauma in the classroom every day. Let this book be your guide to seeking solutions rather than dwelling on problems, to building relationships that allow students to grow, thrive, and-most assuredly-learn at high levels.
Getting More Out of Restorative Practice in Schools by
Restorative practice (RP) has been successfully implemented in schools for decades and is primarily associated with improving behaviour and relationships, by changing the culture of problem solving in the school. However, it has huge untapped potential to support initiatives in other areas, and this book provides examples of how RP can enhance the effectiveness of these other practices. Split into three sections, the book first looks at implementation, readiness and evaluation. It then covers integrating RP with, and linking RP into, other issues relevant to schools such as trauma, poverty, and mindfulness, and finally shows how to work well with parents and families. The book gives proven strategies for measuring success and evaluating effectiveness. Overall, it provides insight into a variety of issues RP can help schools with, and addresses them in practical ways to help schools implement restorative practice to its full potential.
Reaching and Teaching Children Exposed to Trauma by
What does a harmed child look like? It's the little girl on the playground who has mysterious bruises on her legs. It's the three-month-old baby boy who arches his back when you try to hold him. It's the four-year-old who bites and hits when asked to clean up. These are the faces of traumatized children. As an early childhood professional, you play a key role in the early identification of maltreatment and unhealthy patterns of development. You are also the gateway to healing. In Reaching and Teaching Children Exposed to Trauma, you will find the tools and strategies to connect with harmed children and start them on the path to healing.
Teaching to Strengths by
Half the students in U.S. schools are experiencing or have experienced trauma, violence, or chronic stress. Much has been written about these students from a therapeutic perspective, especially regarding how to provide them with adequate counseling supports and services. Conversely, little has been written about teaching this population and doing so from a strengths-based perspective. Using real-world examples as well as research-based principles, this book shows how to Identify inherent assets that students bring to the classroom. Connect to students' experiences through instructional planning and delivery. Foster students' strengths through the use of predictable routines and structured paired and small-group learning experiences. Develop family and community partnerships. Experts Debbie Zacarian, Lourdes Alvarez-Ortiz, and Judie Haynes outline a comprehensive, collaborative approach to teaching that focuses on students' strengths and resiliency. Teaching to Strengths encourages educators to embrace teaching and schoolwide practices that support and enhance the academic and socio-emotional development of students living with trauma, violence, and chronic stress.
The Trauma-Informed School: A Step by Step Implementation Guide for Administrators and School Personnel by
"An all-inclusive guide designed to give school administrators of any school (elementary, middle or high school), step-by-step instructions on how to turn a school of any size into a trauma-informed school. With over 250 pages of content, this guide gives you the protocols you need along with a link to download all the documents needed for a successful implementation."--Publisher's promotional description.
The Trauma-Sensitive Classroom by
Selected as a "Favorite Book for Educators in 2018" by Greater Good. From the author of Mindfulness for Teachers, a guide to supporting trauma-exposed students. Fully half the students in U.S. schools have experienced trauma, violence, or chronic stress. In the face of this epidemic, it falls increasingly to teachers to provide the adult support these students need to function in school. But most educators have received little training to prepare them for this role. In her new book, Tish Jennings--an internationally recognized leader in the field of social and emotional learning--shares research and experiential knowledge about the practices that support students' healing, build their resilience, and foster compassion in the classroom. In Part I, Jennings describes the effects of trauma on body and mind, and how to recognize them in students' behavior. In Part II, she introduces the trauma-sensitive practices she has implemented in her work with schools. And in Part III, she connects the dots between mindfulness, compassion, and resilience. Each chapter contains easy-to-use, practical activities to hone the skills needed to create a compassionate learning environment.
Trauma-Sensitive Schools by
Growing evidence supports the important relationship between trauma and academic failure. Along with the failure of "zero tolerance" policies to resolve issues of school safety and a new understanding of children's disruptive behaviour, educators are changing the way they view children's academic and social problems. In response, the trauma-sensitive schools movement presents a new vision for promoting children's success. This book introduces this promising approach and provides K-5 education professionals with clear explanations of current research and dozens of practical, creative ideas.
The Trauma and Attachment-Aware Classroom by
Trauma can have a significant impact on the stability of a child's development and can put additional pressures on the education staff working with them. Showing you how you can best support children who have experienced adverse childhood experiences, this guide is full of practical guidance on how you can adapt your teaching with this group. Covering a range of issues a child may have, such as foetal alcohol spectrum disorder, pathological demand avoidance, attachment difficulties and many more, this book provides the trauma-informed tools you need to care for these children and to give the best possible opportunities from their education. It also addresses the difference children may experience in learning, how they behave, how teachers can ensure home--school cooperation, and how teachers can act in a trauma-informed manner.
Restorative Justice by
This comprehensive guide provides an accessible introduction to the philosophy of restorative justice and its practical application in a wide range of settings, showing how it can help both victims and offenders when harm has been done. Drawing on many years' experience of working in victim support, probation, mediation and restorative practices, Marian Liebmann uses pertinent case examples to illustrate how restorative justice can be used effectively to work with crime and its effects. Also included are sections on confronting bullying in schools, dealing with sexual and racial violence, tackling antisocial behaviour and community reconciliation after war. Whether in the context of families, schools, communities, criminal justice or prisons, the author argues that restorative justice is a `seamless philosophy' which can be applied flexibly to meet diverse needs. Liebmann provides an international outlook, examining how restorative justice is practised around the world, including traditional Maori and Aboriginal approaches. Restorative Justice: How It Works is a key reference for magistrates, social workers, probation officers, Youth Offending Team workers, police, teachers and health professionals, as well as the lay reader.
The School-To-Prison Pipeline by
The expanded use of zero-tolerance policies and security measures in schools has exponentially increased arrests and referrals to the juvenile courts√>=often for typical adolescent developmental behaviors and low-level misdemeanors. This is the first truly comprehensive assessment of the "school-to-prison pipeline"√>=a term that refers to the increased risk for certain individuals, disproportionately from minority and impoverished communities, to end up ensnared in the criminal justice system because of excessively punitive disciplinary policies in schools. Written by one of the foremost experts on this topic, the book examines school disciplinary policies and juvenile justice policies that contribute to the pipeline, describes its impact on targeted√>=both intentionally and unintentionally√>=children and adolescents, and recommends a more supportive and rehabilitative model that challenges the criminalization of education and punitive juvenile justice. The book outlines effective policies, interventions, and preventative efforts that can be used to improve school climates and safety. The author includes specific recommendations for delinquency, detention, and incarceration prevention. The text incorporates a vast store of empirical knowledge from all relevant fields of study and includes research citations for more in-depth study. Case examples illuminate the plight of adolescents enmeshed in these systems along with effective interventions. The book is a vital resource for undergraduate and graduate students of social work and criminal justice as well as for juvenile court and school personnel and policymakers. KEY FEATURES: Provides a comprehensive assessment of the school-to-prison pipeline Recommends a supportive and rehabilitative model that decriminalizes education and challenges punitive juvenile justice Written by one of the foremost national experts on this topic Identifies the major risk factors for involvement in the pipeline
Trauma-Informed Juvenile Justice in the United States by
Although most young offenders have experienced some form of trauma, the juvenile justice system in the United States is ill-equipped to deal with the effects of trauma, and its focus on punishment often further traumatizes youth. This text presents a much-needed alternative to the current system, advocating trauma-informed interventions based on principles of healing and restorative justice.
Childhood Trauma and Resilience: a Practical Guide by
Trauma-informed care is emerging as a critical component of pediatric best practices. With this new practical guide, pediatricians and other child health professionals will learn to identify, evaluate, and treat children and families affected by trauma and adversity when they present at the office. In addition to instruction for acute, hands-on care, the cohesive approach offered in this guide also lays out a framework and concrete steps to transform practices into ones that are trauma-sensitive and can provide the best, most impactful care to all patients. Childhood Trauma and Resilience: A Practical Guide includes mnemonics, charts, tables, and numerous case studies to reinforce learning, as well as timely information on physician burnout and secondary traumatic stress. More than 20 reproducible handouts on topics such as attachment, cultural connections, and promoting resilience, will help pediatricians engage with parents on these important related topics and focus on the family factors that can help prevent and mitigate the effects of trauma.
Mental Health Care of Children and Adolescents by
This indispensable resource is designed to help pediatric health care providers assess, treat and manage children's mental health care issues a primary care setting. Guidance on developing the community-level systems needed for quality mental health care of children is provided, plus the latest information on enhancements to the medical home, mental health competencies, and prevention and treatment strategies. Topics covered include: Assessing and monitoring children's mental health in primary care Family-centered care and how-to apply behavioral change science Anticipatory guidance, surveillance and screening Care of special populations Psychotropic medications in primary care Common signs and symptoms
Neurobiology for Clinical Social Work by
Powerful and practical tools are coming out of neuroscience research, and clinical social workers will learn all about them in this thoroughly revised and updated edition of the now-classic social-work textbook. With chapters on attachment, emotion regulation, and the basic intervention models (psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral, and systemic), no social worker can be without this book.
Promoting Mental Health in Children and Adolescents by
This indispensable resource provides primary care clinicians with a framework for addressing pediatric mental health problems in the primary care practice. Gain guidance on integrating healthy social-emotional development of children and adolescents with other aspects of health supervision. Obtain surveillance and screening tools to identify early signs and symptoms of mental health disorders and obtain evidence-based interventions to care for children and adolescents with mental health issues. Gain in-depth guidance on the care of special populations of children who may be at increased risk for mental health problems: those exposed to adverse childhood experiences; children in military families; lesbian, gay and bisexual youth; children with gender expression and identity issues; children affected by racism; adolescents who are pregnant or parenting, and much more. Topics include Strength-Based Approach to Promoting Healthy Child Development Healthy sleep, weight, use of media, and active living Children exposed to adverse childhood experiences Violence Prevention Caring for families new to the United States Children in foster or kinship care or involved with child welfare Children of divorce Adopted children Children with chronic medical conditions And more
Restoring Sanctuary by
This is the third in a trilogy of books that chronicle the revolutionary changes in our mental health and human service delivery systems that have conspired to disempower staff and hinder client recovery. Creating Sanctuary documented the evolution of The Sanctuary Model therapeutic approach as an antidote to the personal and social trauma that clients bring to child welfare agencies, psychiatric hospitals, and residential facilities. Destroying Sanctuary details the destructive role of organizational trauma in the nation's systems of care. Restoring Sanctuary is a user-friendly manual for organizational change that addresses the deep roots of toxic stress and illustrates how to transform a dysfunctional human service system into a safe, secure, trauma-informed environment.At its heart, The Sanctuary Model represents an organizational value system that is committed to seven principles, which serve as anchors for decision making at all levels: non-violence, emotional intelligence, social learning, democracy, open communication, social responsibility, and growth and change. The Sanctuary Model is not a clinical intervention; rather, it is a method for creating an organizational culture that can more effectively provide a cohesive context within which healing from psychological and socially derived forms of traumatic experience can be addressed. Chapters are organized around the seven Sanctuary commitments, providing step-by-step, realistic guidance on creating and sustaining fundamental change."Restoring Sanctuary" is a roadmap to recovery for our nation's systems of care. It explores the notion that organizations are living systems themselves and as such they manifest various degrees of health and dysfunction, analogous to those of individuals. Becoming a truly trauma-informed system therefore requires a process of reconstitution within helping organizations, top to bottom. A system cannot be truly trauma-informed unless the system can create and sustain a process of understanding itself.
Trauma Counseling by
... A] worthy addition to a] graduate training bookshelf... I was a bit daunted by the large, almost 600-page book that landed on my desk, but once I started reading it I had a hard time putting it down "--Melanie D. Hetzel-Riggin, PhD, Penn State, Journal of Trauma and Dissociation Trauma Counseling is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary guide to the theory and treatment of survivors of a broad spectrum of traumatic events, including interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism. It is written by a Fulbright scholar who is internationally recognized for her work with traumatized populations in Rwanda, several southern African countries, Russia, and the United States. It also includes the contributions of researchers from the United States, Australia, Africa, and Europe. The book discusses evidence-based trauma assessment and intervention techniques and integrates the latest findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. It focuses on issues of loss and grief, survivorship and disability, genocide, natural disasters, the impact of war on civilians and veterans, and the distinct effects of trauma in early childhood, childhood, and adolescence. Also addressed are ethical perspectives and methods of self-care for counselors who work with this population. The text will be of value to graduate counseling students and professional counselors as well as social workers, psychologists, psychiatric nurses, and other human service providers, who will be able to attend to trauma survivors with a depth of knowledge and confidence. The contents of Trauma Counseling not only fulfill but exceed the requirements of The Council of Accreditation and Counseling and Related Educational Program (CACREP) standards. Key Features: Addresses the theory and treatment of trauma survivors of interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism Provides a multidisciplinary approach to treatment that integrates findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. Includes evidence-based counseling techniques Illuminates the intersections of trauma, crisis, and disaster issues, exceeding related requirements of CACREP standards Examines ethical dimensions and the need for self-care among trauma counselors Emphasizes the relevance of clinical supervision in trauma care Offers topic-relevant resources at the end of each chapter