Research Guides: Social Studies Education: Media

Streaming Videos

History Makers This link opens in a new window With over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, History Makers Digital Archive features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded in 180 cities and towns across the United States as well as places like Norway, Mexico and the Caribbean. Interviews in History Makers Digital Archive range from 90 minutes to 15 hours in length, and are housed permanently at the Library of Congress.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video library including over 12,000 titles covering a wide range of academic subjects from freshman to graduate level. Content includes documentaries, lectures, instructional/curricular videos, and historical primary source videos.

Instructions for embedding Films on Demand

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Collection of 25,000 streaming videos including educational videos, tutorial/procedural titles, feature films, documentaries and arts performances.

Instructions for embedding and clipping Kanopy films.

PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition This link opens in a new window This collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides a range of content with video documentaries and series from PBS. the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to videos from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Websites

Additional Social Studies resources Explore the websites linked in this page for ideas to engage students when teaching social studies.
American at War (Federal Depository Library Program) This guide provides information on America's involvement in various wars and conflicts throughout the years.
American Battlefields American battlefield Trust’s FREE Educational Resources
Ben's Guide to US Government for Kids U.S. Government Printing Office's educational online outreach for grades K-12. The nonpartisan, text-heavy site provides tutorials and games on all branches of U.S. government, history, states, and symbols.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers sponsored by the Library of Congress Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Digital History This Web site was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.
Federal Reserve Education This resource provides a centralized database of metadata for lesson plans and other educational materials produced by the economic education efforts of each of the 12 Federal Reserve Banks.
Government Documents Kent Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law.
History Unfolded: US Newspapers and the Holocaust What could Americans have known about the Holocaust as it was happening? Find out what Americans read about the Holocaust in their local newspapers from 1933 to 1946. Explore newspaper articles that were published across the US to find out what was reported, when, and where. Find articles by keyword, topic, location, and more.
Library of Congress: Classroom Materials Locate primary materials by topic and grade level with accompanying teacher guides.
Library of Congress Digital Collection
Missouri Digital Archives More than 9 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.
State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSMO) Digital Collections The State Historical Society of Missouri Digital Collections provide online access to photographs, art, maps, diaries, letters, newspapers, books, articles, and oral histories telling the story of Missouri’s history, people, and culture.
TeachingHistory.org Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Teachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom.
USA.gov USA.gov is your online guide to government information and services.