Message Us
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Email Us
Visit Us 
Call Us(573) 651-2230
Searches all of our print and eBook collections along with some other resources like videos and government documents.
Searches our eBook collections. They can search the contents of whole books.
You can use the catalogs to search for popular books about LGBTQ+ people like novels, comics, and memoirs. To find them, add genre or form terms to your search to help you find the type of literature you are looking for.
Some common genre and form terms:Cover images: The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake; The Lamb Will Slaughter the Lion by Margaret Killjoy; Love Beyond Body, Space and Time: An Indigenous LGBT Sci-Fi Anthology edited by Hope Nicholson; and My Brother's Husband by Gengoroh Tagame
Use these titles for summaries and overviews of topics you are researching.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic, and addresses questions such as: · What are the key theories used to understand variations in sexual orientation and gender identity? · How do Gay Straight Alliances (GSA) affect LGBTQ youth? · How do LGBTQ people experience the transition to parenthood? · How does sexual orientation intersect with other key social locations, such as race, to shape experience and identity? · What are the effects of marriage equality on sexual minority individuals and couples? Top researchers and clinicians contribute to the 400 signed entries, from fields such as: · Psychology · Human Development · Gender/Queer Studies · Sexuality Studies · Social Work · Sociology The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies is an essential resource for researchers interested in an interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.
LGBTQ in the 21st Century
Although the historic majority opinion of Obergefell v. Hodges legalized same-sex marriage nationwide and the military has moved toward a "gender neutral" enlistment policy, how LGBTQ people maneuver American society continues to get worked out at every level --in schools, in courts and in the popular culture. Issues that will be explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights. As conservative governors sue the federal government and try to block what they call a "massive social experiment" in school bathrooms and locker rooms, and states deal with the attendant backlash, LGBTQ activists continue to force a national conversation on gender identity.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. * Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts * Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology * Serves as an essential resource for students, scholars, and researchers with contributions from an international team of top scholars and practitioners 3 Volumes www.encyclopediaofhumansexuality.com
LGBT Youth Issues Today by
The increasing numbers of LGBT teenagers who choose to live their lives as "out" youth face unique issues within their schools, families, and communities. This book provides information that will help LGBT youth overcome their challenges and give non-LGBT youth a better understanding of sexual identities different from their own. While all youth are likely to face traumatic or stressful situations in their transition to adulthood, lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgendered (LGBT) youth face significant and specific challenges in their lives--a result of living in a society that has yet to accept or be comfortable with the idea of same-sex or other "non-heterosexual" attraction, especially among young people. LGBT Youth Issues Today: A Reference Handbook presents historical background on the topic, provides an up-to-date examination of the issues of concern to LGBT youth, and offers in-depth information and resources for further research. In addition to providing frank, accessible information about the problems, controversies, and solutions facing today's LGBT teenagers, the work contains a chapter of essays from informed individuals regarding same-sex relationships among youth, voicing the experiences and opinions of activists, social workers, psychologists, educators, parents of LGBT youth, and LGBT youth themselves. Also included is a chapter profiling about 20 individuals and organizations that have been involved in discussions about gay and lesbian youth, such as Tony Perkins, Kevin Jennings, Robert Parlin, the GLBT National Help Center, It Gets Better, Gay Lesbian Straight Educational Network (GLSEN), Family Pride Coalition, Out Scouts, Family Research Council, and the National Organization for Marriage (NOM). * Addresses the major issues faced by LGBT youth, such as gaining acceptance of their sexual identity in the school environment or finding a means to survive after rejection by their family members * Examines historic societal attitudes toward same-sex relationships involving young people, allowing readers to grasp how the general population's thinking has evolved * Reviews and discusses the findings of literature on the causes of homelessness and suicidal ideation among LGBT youth * Presents examples of ways in which LGBT youth have developed the skills that enable them to deal with their unique issues and concerns * Includes an extensive list of resources and organizations that can provide additional information and assistance to both LGBT and non-LGBT individuals
The Transgender Handbook: A Guide for Transgender People, Their Families and Professionals by
This handbook is written for transgender people, their families and friends; for professionals who in their day-to-day job may encounter transgender people; and for students, teachers, educators, academics, and members of the public at large with an interest in transgender people. This handbook gives an in-depth overview on a wide spectrum of issues encountered by transgender people, from childhood to later on in life. Key topics addressed include medical and surgical treatments, access to transgender health care, sexuality, mental health issues, fertility, education, and employment. This practical guide is written in a clear and concise manner by more than 40 international specialists in the field of transgender health and well-being. This essential text is extensively referenced and illustrated, and informs the reader on a broad range of important gender-affirming issues.
Proud Heritage: People, Issues, and Documents of the LGBT Experience by
This groundbreaking three-volume reference traces the roots and development of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) rights and issues in the United States from the pre-colonial period to the present day. With the social, religious, and political stigmas attached to alternative lifestyles throughout history, most homosexuals, bisexuals, and transgender people lived covertly for much of, if not all of, their lives. Likewise, the narrative of our country excludes the contributions, struggles, and historical achievements of this group. This revealing, chronologically arranged reference work uncovers the rich story of the LGBT community in the United States and discusses the politics, culture, and issues affecting it since the early 17th century. Author Chuck Stewart traces the evolution of LGBT issues as part of our nation's shared cultural past and modern-day experience. Volume 1 focuses on the origins of the movement with the founding of Jamestown in 1607 through the 1970s and the beginning of gay rights activism in the United States. Volume 2 spans the 1980s and the AIDs pandemic through the present-day issues of marriage equality. Volume 3 gives a concise review of this society in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. * Highlights the social, cultural, and political developments of LGBT issues through biographies of key people, entries, legislation, and primary documents * Covers content mandated by the Fair, Accurate, Inclusive, and Respectful (FAIR) Education Act in California * Encourages critical inquiry and thinking by integrating factual content with speeches, letters, and biographies * Contains contributions from more than 70 academic scholars from across disciplines to give a broad perspective on the content * Includes state-by-state examinations of LGBT history and laws
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by
Not so long ago hardly anything was said of the Lesbian Liberation Movement and the Gay Liberation Movement, indeed, the terms gay and lesbian were not even used if some other expression could be found. Today, by contrast, hardly a day passes when something important does not occur, and is carried by the major media and disseminated on more personal levels through blogs and the social media. If anything, there is perhaps too much "news" and not enough "information." Obviously, a book like this cannot keep up with the news, but it can do something equally important when it comes to information, by reminding us of the past and what has been going and just how fast events are moving. The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography, this book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone interested in learning more about the struggle for equality.
Gender Studies: Sources, Perspectives, and Methodologies
This book serves as a primer to the study of gender, including women’s, queer, and men’s studies. By employing literature, film, art, history, and other disciplines, it identifies areas of critical thought and practice in gender and sexuality studies; provides an overview of central themes, current topics, and seminal debates; and offers resources for further research.