Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Day

History Day Resources

Books and Media

Books and Media

Books are great information sources. Use them to explore a time in history, gather information on an individual, or an event of interest.

The collection at Kent Library includes:

  • over 500,000 print volumes 
  • over 130,000 eBooks 
  • streaming video and audio 
  • DVDs 
  • government documents and more
  • To access Kent library materials, users must be a current Southeast student, or have a community card.
  • To obtain a community library card, patrons must be at least 16 years old AND be a Missouri resident.

How to Access Library Resources

Off-Campus Access

  • Off-campus access to eBooks, articles, and other materials display a lock icon  and are available to SEMO students with a current SE Key and password. On campus access is available within Kent Library.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) 

  • Request books and digital copies of journal articles from libraries world-wide.
  • This service is free of charge to Southeast Missouri State University patrons. 
  • Public libraries provide interlibrary loan services to community patrons.

Special Collections and Archives in Kent Library  

  • Contact Special Collections & Archives in Kent Library on the campus of Southeast Missouri State University to see if there is information about your History Day topic. Special Collections and Archives contain research materials that document the historical and cultural experience of Southeast Missouri, the Mississippi River Valley region, and the history of Southeast Missouri State University. All materials are freely available and open to the public.

    Please contact us at:

    Telephone: 573.651.2245
    E-Mail: semoarchives@semo.edu

    Monday – Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Open all other times by appointment only.

Books & Media for History Day Projects

Images, eBooks, Film, and Music 

State and Local Collections

National Collections