UI 100 - First Year Seminar - McAllister, Charles

We recommend the Career Fields section if you are looking to identify occupations and the Career Articles section for detailed information about an occupation. 

Career Fields

• profiles of industries and what occupations available in them

Career Articles

Profiles of occupations including:

• what you do on the job
• employment outlook 
• required education and training 
• normal earnings
• a list of professional associations for learning more

To go directly to different sections in the encyclopedia, use the Table of Contents button located to the bottom right of the title. 

Used to find books, videos, and government documents.

Image credit: "Endless Books" by Bonni Rambatan is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Kent Library Catalog

Kent Library has a number of books, ebooks, videos, and government documents on various occupations and career paths. Terms that you can add to your search to help to narrow down to results about getting work in the field include jobs, career, "career path," and "vocational guidance."  

MOBIUS Catalog

Besides Kent Library's collection, you can also search and request print books, DVDs, and other physical materials from other Missouri college & university libraries. Materials can be shipped to the circulation desk at Kent Library, the Arts Resource Center on the River Campus, and any regional campus.

The library's article databases can be good sources to grab news about an occupation, interviews with or articles by people working in a career about their experience, trends in the occupation, and research on it.  

What Article Databases Search

• Magazines
• Newspapers
• Trade publications
• Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals

Tips

• Use extra search terms to focus on what aspects of your career you want to look up, such as salary, employment, job outlook, professional development, job satisfaction, career development, etc. 
• Use the publication date limits to find up-to-date information.

General Databases

Below there are three general databases that cover a wide variety of the sources listed above and should be useful for many careers and occupations.

Specialty Databases

You can also select a specialized database on a subject connected to your career using the Databases by Subject page. Subject databases will search more trade publications and scholarly journals related to that subject.