Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know by
Copyright law was once an esoteric backwater, the special province of professional authors, publishers, and entertainment companies, but it now impacts everyone who uses the Internet or consumes cultural expression on a computer, mobile phone, or personal tablet. Copyright has come to beimmensely controversial as well. For instance, the proposed Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA), copyright-industry backed legislation met its defeat at the hands of a popular outcry spearheaded by Google, Wikipedia, and other online aggregators of content and information. SOPA and other such initiativeswould target the massive online piracy that threatens the economic viability of newspapers, movie studios, record labels, and book publishers. But the copyright industries' arguably heavy-handed response threatens to chill the free-wheeling wellspring of online creativity, expression, and readyaccess to information upon which we have all come to rely. To navigate the shoals of these opposing, equally dim prospects is a complex undertaking. No less daunting, even for the educated layperson, is to understand the legal framework, policy arguments, industry economics, legislative proposals,and judicial decisions that fuel the copyright debate.In Copyright: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG, law professor Neil Weinstock Netanel guides readers through the murky dynamics of modern copyright law, answering questions about topics such as the new challenges posed by the digital environment, copyright and piracy in the global marketplace, andproposals for future reform. From the basis and purpose of copyright law to a glimpse at what the law could - or should - become in the digital age, Netanel offers the necessary tools for following the debates that have raged everywhere from internet forums to the halls of Congress.
The Copyright Book by
This edition of the guide to US copyright law has been updated to include recent judicial and legislative decisions concerning copyright and the debates surrounding publication on the Web and other new media. The text is written in language that the lay reader can understand.
Navigating Copyright for Libraries by
Information is a critical resource for personal, economic and social development. Libraries and archives are the primary access point to information for individuals and communities with much of the information protected by copyright or licence terms. In this complex legal environment, librarians and information professionals operate at the fulcrum of copyright's balance, ensuring understanding of and compliance with copyright legislation and enabling access to knowledge in the pursuit of research, education and innovation. This book, produced on behalf of the IFLA Copyright and other Legal Matters (CLM) Advisory Committee, provides basic and advanced information about copyright, outlines limitations and exceptions, discusses communicating with users and highlights emerging copyright issues. The chapters note the significance of the topic; describe salient points of the law and legal concepts; present selected comparisons of approaches around the world; highlight opportunities for reform and advocacy; and help libraries and librarians find their way through the copyright maze.
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by
Copyright law never sleeps, making it imperative to keep abreast of the latest developments. Declared "an exemplary text that seals the standards for such books" (Managing Information), this newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike. Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; get up to speed on fresh developments, such as how the recently signed Marrakesh Treaty expands access for people with disabilities and why the latest ruling in the Georgia State University case makes developing a fair use policy so important; understand the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; receive guidance on setting up on a copyright service at a library, college, or university; and find many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. This straightforward, easy-to-use guide provides the tools librarians and educators need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users.
Copyright Questions and Answers for Information Professionals by
Copyright law is a critical issue for authors, librarians, publishers, and information vendors. It is also a complex area, with many shades of gray. Librarians continually need to seek answers to questions ranging from the reproduction of copyrighted works for library users, through the performance of audiovisual works, to the digitization and display of protected works on library websites. This book presents updated versions of the author's copyright columns published in Against the Grain, the leading journal in acquisitions librarianship since the late 1990s.
International Copyright: Principles, Law and Practice by
This book surveys and analyzes the principal legal doctrines affecting copyright practice around the world, in both transactional and litigation settings.
The Public Domain by
Find free content and save on permission fees Millions of creative works--books, artwork, photos, songs,movies, and more--are available copyright-free in the public domain. Frozen fordecades due to lengthened copyright terms, the public domain has finally begunto grow again as copyrights for older works expire. Since 2019, classics suchasThe Great Gatsby, Sherlock Holmes, and early Alfred Hitchcock filmshave all entered the U.S. public domain. The only book that helps you find and identify which creativeworks are protected by copyright and which are not, ThePublic Domain covers the rules for: * writings * music * art * photography * architecture * maps * choreography * movies * video * software * databases * collections The 10th edition is completely updated to include new publicdomain resources and the latest legal changes to copyright protection of songs,books, photos, and other creative works, as well as public domain rules outsidethe U.S. It also covers when works created with artificial intelligence (AI)are in the public domain.
Unlocking the Digital Age: The Musician's Guide to Resarch, Copyright, and Publishing by 
Coaching Copyright by
From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
Compact Copyright by
Included in Choice's Top 75 Titles and Resources for Community College Libraries Faculty, students, and colleagues come to you with copyright questions, both simple and complex. And they all want reliable answers--as fast as you can get them. With this guide, designed for ready access, you'll be prepared to deliver. Lawyer, copyright librarian, and iSchool instructor Benson presents succinct explanations ideal for both on-the-fly reference and staff training. Copyright specialists will appreciate excerpts from the law itself alongside tools and resources for digging deeper. Practical discussions of key legal concepts, illustrated using 52 scenarios, will lead you to fast, accurate answers on a range of topics, such as barriers to using the TEACH Act provisions in content for online teaching; showing a full-length movie in a university class; public domain and the 1998 Sonny Bono Copyright Term Extension Act; your legal options when receiving a DMCA take-down notice; court interpretations of fair use in three key recent cases; Creative Commons licenses, complete with a quick reference chart; library rights to license photographs in a digital collection; using letters under copyright in a special collections display case; a grad student's right to use in a thesis writing published in their professor's journal article; applying the implied license option to post historical student dissertations in institutional repositories; the Marrakesh Treaty provision supporting transfer of accessible works internationally; and limiting factors for interlibrary loan.
Copyright by
Cornish's Copyright is the standard work in its field and is indispensable for all librarians and information professionals and who are looking for solutions to their copyright problems. The book explains the provisions of the UK Copyright Act and supporting legislation in quick and easy question-and-answer form. This latest edition is revised and expanded in the light of new legislation which came into force in 2014/5 and some decisions by the courts which have changed our understanding of what the law means. Areas such as moral rights, originality, databases, and the use of broadcast material in education all receive detailed attention, along with Wikipedia, Creative Commons and Open Archives. Copyright is also considered in the context of social media. All types of material that may attract copyright are considered, including: literary, dramatic and musical works artistic works sound recordings films and video broadcast databases computer programs and websites. The text is amplified by the use of practical examples to illustrate complex points and complemented by a detailed index that enables the enquirer to pinpoint topics and proposed action quickly and accurately. The appendices provide helpful lists of addresses and selected further sources of information. Readership: This book will be invaluable for all librarians, information professionals and students who are looking for solutions to their copyright problems.
Copyright Warning by 
Freedom of Expression: Resistance & Repression in the Age of Intellectual Property by 
Other People's Footage: Copyright and Fair Use by 
RIP: A Remix Manifesto Mash-Ups, Copyright and Culture Creation by 
Understanding Intellectual Property by