Research Guides: Communication Studies: Articles & Multimedia

Recommended Databases

Most Kent Library subscription databases contain articles in magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. However, a growing number of our databases contain information other than articles.
Databases may contain information in the form of media, images, sound, books, or data - to name a few.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Core database for at the communication field. Indexes NCA journals and provides access to major journals in the areas of mass media and communication studies.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Business, corporate-related database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window General database. Includes many fields and disciplines.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming videos. Watch academic-related videos/films on a broad array of communication-related topics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Access to journals such as Rhetoric & Public Affairs.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Good general database.

The following are either streaming video series available in the Films On Demand database or other very useful sources for finding speeches.

The American Presidency Project
A great collection of presidential speeches, debates, press conferences, and more. Covers 1789 - 2015.
American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."
The Best Commencement Speeches Ever: NPR
300 commencement speeches dating back to 1774. Speeches have been selected by National Public Radio. Texts and video (for some but not all) of the speeches are available.
C-SPAN
From White House briefings, to Congressional testimony, to C-SPAN's Student CAM, this site will amaze you with a rich array of "speechs."
Great Speeches Series
27 part series includes a range of speeches spanning the 20th Century.
Great American Speeches: 80 Years of Political Oratory
"This unique, six-part series places students of public speaking, American history, and political science front row, center at key speeches by the most eloquent orators of the 20th century."
Great Speeches: Today's Women
"This seven-part series offers important yet often impossible-to-find speeches by contemporary and historically influential women."
Vital Speeches of the Day
A well-respected source for a wide variety of current speeches delivered in many different settings. Speeches are from 1934 to the present.

	Chat with Us JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
	Email Us kentreference@semo.edu

	Call Us (573) 651-2230