The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field¿of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care by
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care, Cathy Nutbrown's second edition, explains the key ideas and issues in Early Childhood clearly and concisely, keeping students up-to-date with the latest developments in the field. New entries include:Attachment Babies' learning and development Children's CentersCitizenshipDigital TechnologiesEarly Years Foundation Stage Early Years Professional StatusNeuroscienceSexualitiesThe rest of the book has also been thoroughly updated and revised, and includes coverage of heuristic play, Early Literacy Development and Parental Involvement.The book offers starting points which provide a clear focus, further reading and discussion of research on thirty-five key topics. It is a must-have for students studying courses in early childhood education and care.Professor Cathy Nutbrown directs and teaches on Masters and Doctoral programs in Early Childhood Education at the University of Sheffield.
The SAGE Handbook of Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education by
With the expertise of a body of international contributors from Australia, Canada, USA, UK, Finland, The Netherlands, Italy, Greece and Chile, this handbook explores key in-depth issues in quality Early Childhood Development and Education. Unlike previous publications in the discipline, this title combines research and practice to investigate emotional and social development, wellbeing and mental health, language, cultural environments, as well as the role of parents in a child′s development. It is divided into six key parts:Part I: Emotional Development Part II: Social Development Part III: Play, Development and Learning Part IV: Memory and Understanding Part V: Learning, Language and LiteracyPart VI: Executive Functions, Metacognition and Self-Regulation
