Research Guides: Mathematics: Books & Videos

Online Catalogs

Search the online catalogs for: print and electronic books; streaming video and audio, DVD's and government documents. The Kent Library Catalog searches our collection. The MOBIUS Catalog searches other Missouri college and university library collections and allows you to request their physical materials be shipped our campus.

Kent Library Catalog Hit "Request" to have a print book or DVD pulled from the shelf and held for you at the Circulation Desk, the ARC on River Campus, or any of the regional campuses. You login with your SE Key and password.
MOBIUS Catalog Hit "Request" to ship print books and DVDs from other libraries to Kent Library, the ARC on the River Campus, or the regional campuses. Your password is your Southeast ID (S0 number) with "semo" added at the end (ex. S05555555semo).

Ebook Databases

Recommended ebook databases.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A collection of ebooks covering a variety of disciplines and subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks covering a variety of disciplines and subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A virtual reference library containing thousands of titles from over 100 publishers.

Streaming Video Databases

Subject Headings

Every book in the library has been tagged with subject headings that describe broadly what it is about. When you find one book, you can use its subject heading(s) to find books on similar topics. Clicking on a hyperlinked subject heading in a catalog record will generate a result list of all titles owned by Kent Library that have been assigned that subject heading.

Call Numbers

Currently, most of Kent Library's books are organized on the shelf by the Dewey Decimal System. Kent Library is in the process of converting library materials to Library of Congress (LC) call numbers. Until this conversion is complete, collections in all subjects will be housed in both Dewey and LC. Call numbers, whether Dewey or LC, are assigned to represent a subject that describes what the book is about. As a result, book(s) you find in the catalog may be shelved next to books on similar topics. You can often find more sources by looking around on the shelf by the book(s) you found using the catalog.

Listed below are call numbers for Mathematics in both Dewey and LC classification schemes:

Dewey Decimal Call numbers:

510 Mathematics
511 General principles of mathematics
512 Algebra
513 Arithmetic
514 Topology
515 Analysis
516 Geometry
518 Numerical analysis
519 Probabilities & applied mathematics

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Q Science (General)
- QA 1-939 Mathematics
  - QA1-43 General
  - QA47-59 Tables
  - QA71-90 Instruments and machines
    - QA75-76.95 Calculating machines
    - QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science
    - QA76.75-76.765 Computer software
  - QA101-(145) Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic
  - QA150-272.5 Algebra
  - QA273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical statistics
  - QA299.6-433 Analysis
  - QA440-699 Geomotry. Trigonometry. Topology
  - QA801-939 Analytic mechanics

Mathematics

Research Assistance

Message Us

Email Us

Visit Us

Call Us