Chemistry

In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, and mathematics.

Fully revised and updated, the seventh edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 5000 entries--over 175 new to this edition--it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry.

The Encyclopedia is a complete and authoritative reference work for this rapidly evolving field. Over 300 international scientists, each experts in their specialties, have written over 330 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including geochemical thermodynamics and kinetics, isotope and organic geochemistry, meteorites and cosmochemistry, the carbon cycle and climate, trace elements, geochemistry of high and low temperature processes, and ore deposition.

Provides overviews and in-depth and authoritative analyses on the basic and cutting-edge manufacturing technologies and sciences across a broad spectrum of areas. These topics are commonly encountered in industries as well as in academia.

1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles

Hardbound. This volume covers the recent development of the research on fatty acid related compounds and polyketides and also the class of natural products which are not covered in the other volumes. Starting from the biosynthesis of fatty acids with normal and unusual cyclic alkyl starting unit structures, a large variety of compounds derived from fatty acids which have significant biological activities are described in the first part of this volume.

Dictionary -- Appendices -- 1.SI prefixes and multiplication factors -- 2.Derived units -- 3.Derived units in SI and c.g.s. -- 4.Abbreviations used for piping and instrumentation diagrams (P&IDs) -- 5.Dimensions and units -- 6.Greek alphabet -- 7.Periodic table -- 8.Fundamental constants -- 9.Recommended web links.

Designed to provide a detailed and comprehensive publication covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis. The complete work consists of around 610 articles, each consisting of about 4000 words, figures and summary tables.

This unique 4-vol. set offers readers a complete overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It enables them to obtain a basic yet thorough understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it and scientists who have been critical in the development of the field.

Biographies of women scientists are few in number. This volume fills that gap in the literature. It includes extensive profiles, arranged alphabetically, of 75 women from different countries who have been influential in the development of chemistry and physics.