Use Kent Library's Catalog to find books and videos. Remember that you have access to MOBIUS, which provides access to millions of resources from over 70 libraries within 3-10 business days. Browse the shelves:
Dewey Decimal Classification:
Library of Congress Classification*: Class L -- Education
Library of Congress Classification: Class P -- Language and Literature
Some TESOL subject headings include:
*As of 2018, all new books will use Library of Congress (LC) call numbers, and eventually the collection will be transitioned to LC.
The American Heritage Thesaurus for Learners of English by
Learning to use synonyms in another language can be hard, challenging, complicated, even trying. This unique reference, the only book of its kind in the U.S. market, contains more than 6,000 synonyms that have been carefully chosen for their usefulness to students of English, both intermediate and advanced. Every synonym has a short, clear definition that helps distinguish it from other synonyms in its group and its own example sentence showing proper usage and clarifying shades of meaning. A useful appendix includes thematic word groups, a list of frequently misspelled words, irregular verbs, and information on common idioms, sound-alikes, and other areas of difficulty for English learners.
Course Design for TESOL by
Course Design for TESOL offers a unique approach of integrating curriculum with teaching activities to allow language educators to utilize the text in a variety of courses in a TESOL program. Although the authors assume readers have a basic knowledge of English grammar, this textbook/resource is designed to be comprehensible to those who have not had an SLA or Applied Linguistics course. Because each language skill is discussed in detail in terms of important theories and concepts and actual teaching activities are included, the book can also be used in a Methods course or a combined Curriculum Design-Methods (or Methods and Materials) course. Part I explores the basic language acquisition theories and their influences on current teaching practices in the field. Part II then moves on to the core elements of designing a curriculum or course: conducting the needs analysis, setting of course goals/objectives, designing the syllabus, and writing lesson plans. Part III: Instructional Activities and Assessment Techniques features chapters on the teaching of listening, speaking, reading, writing, grammar, and culture. Within each of these chapters, the authors address the fundamental issues related to the teaching of each skill and then discuss the components of a good activity for that skill (and how to design one), and then offer four sample activities (one for each type of syllabus) and guidance on assessing that skill. The activities can be adapted for use in a variety of classrooms and settings. Part IV addresses contemporary trends--curriculum issues in North America and Europe (standards and educational policy), practices in teaching in Asia (particularly China and Korea), and technology-enhanced learning.
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics by
This volume provides an up-to-date and comprehensive reference guide to the key concepts, ideas, movements, and trends of applied linguistics for language teaching.
Merriam-Webster's Advanced Learner's English Dictionary by
New title! Designed to help advance students master spoken and written English as it is actually used, this groundbreaking new dictionary provides in-depth and up-to-date coverage of basic English vocabulary, grammar, and usage. Outstanding features include nearly 100,000 words and phrases, more than 160,000 usage examples, more than 22,000 idioms, verbal collocations, and commonly used phrases, and more than 1,000 original drawings-including 16 pages of full color art. Abundant supplemental information includes 25 pages of grammar.
New Oxford American Dictionary by
As Oxford's flagship American dictionary, the New Oxford American Dictionary sets the standard of excellence for lexicography in this country. With more than 350,000 words, phrases, and senses, hundreds of explanatory notes, and more than a thousand illustrations, this book is unparalleled forhaving the most comprehensive and accurate coverage of American English available. The dictionary draws on the two-billion-word Oxford English Corpus and the unrivaled citation files of the world-renowned Oxford English Dictionary to provide the most accurate and richly descriptive picture of American English ever offered in any dictionary. The Third Edition offers a thoroughlyupdated text, with revisions throughout and approximately 2,000 new words, phrases, and meanings. Many new words relate to fast-moving areas such as computing, technology, current affairs, and ecology, while others (frenemy, generation Y, hashtag, hockey mom, microblogging, and robocall) haverecently entered the popular lexicon. Usage notes have been updated in light of the most recent Corpus evidence, and a completely new in-text feature on Word Trends charts usage for rapidly changing words and phrases such as carbon, mobile, or tweet. In addition, the volume has an attractive, modernnew text design that makes entries easier to read and find. One of the hallmarks of the New Oxford American Dictionary is the way it reflects the living language. Unlike in more traditional dictionaries, where meanings are ordered chronologically according to the history of the language, each entry plainly shows the principal meaning or meanings of the word,organized by importance in today's English. Readers can be confident that the first definition they see is the one most likely to be used by people today, and is not a sense that has not been common in two centuries.Offering clear, authoritative, and precise information, with the in-depth and up-to-date coverage that users need and expect, the New Oxford American Dictionary is the benchmark by which all other American dictionaries are measured.
Ultimate Visual Dictionary by
Whether you want to see inside a volcano, understand every component of an engine, or learn the difference between a stegosaurus and a stegoceras, the Ultimate Visual Dictionary will reveal all. Presenting a huge range of information from a unique perspective, with more than 33,000 terms explained and expertly annotated, the Visual Dictionary allows readers to analyze a multitude of objects in unparalleled detail.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals and as a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. In this new edition, every single entry has been reviewed and updated with reference to new developments and publications. Coverage has been expanded to reflect new technological, global and academic developments, with particular attention to areas such as online and distance learning, teacher and learner cognition, testing, assessment and evaluation, global English and teacher education. Themes and disciplines covered include: Methods and materials, including new technologies and materials development Contexts and concepts, such as mediation, risk-taking in language learning and intercomprehension Influential figures from the early days of language teaching to the contemporary Related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and corpus linguistics　 It covers the teaching of specific languages, including Japanese, Chinese, Arabic and African languages, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There are thirty five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items examine language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
The Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages by 
The Palgrave Handbook of Motivation for Language Learning by
This handbook offers an authoritative, one-stop reference work for the dynamic and expanding field of language learning motivation. The 32 chapters have been specially commissioned from the field's most influential researchers and writers. Together they present a compelling picture of the motivations people have for learning languages, the diverse ways we can research motivation, and the implications for promoting and sustaining learners' motivation. The first section outlines the main theoretical approaches to language learning motivation; the next section presents ways in which motivation theory has been applied in practice; the third section showcases examples of motivation research in particular contexts and with particular types of language learners; and the final section describes the exciting directions that contemporary research is taking, promising important new insights for academics and practitioners alike.
Second Handbook of English Language Teaching by
The Second Handbook of English Language Teaching provides a comprehensive examination of policy, practice, research and theory related to English language teaching in international contexts. Over 70 chapters focus on the research foundation for best practices, frameworks for policy decisions, and areas of consensus and controversy in second-language acquisition and pedagogy. In countries around the globe, English has become the second language taught most frequently and intensively. In many countries, particularly in Asia, government policies have made English a part of the curriculum from primary school on. Demand for English teaching by parents and adult learners is fueled by the desire to increase economic competitiveness, globalization of the workforce, immigration, and a move toward lifelong learning. Immigration has led to an increased demand for English-language teaching even in countries where English is the dominant language.
