Research Guides: Historic Preservation: Museums

Search the Library Catalog

The Museum Educator's Manual by Kimberly Huber; Anna Johnson; Tim R. Grove
Call Number: 069.15 M9726
Publication Date: 2009

To find additional books on museums and museum education, search the Kent Library catalog.

Find Articles

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Use these links below to find articles related to museums in library subscription journals.

You can use and, or, & not to make your search more precise.

For example, museum AND education will find all articles containing both terms; museum OR exhibit will find articles containing either term.

Anthropological Index Online

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window

Jill Grannan, Chicago History Museum Curator

Jill Grannan, of the Chicago History Museum, explains the variety of activities involved in being a curator:

Museum Resources

AAM's Characteristics of Excellence for U.S. Museums
Standards and best practices for museums in the areas of public trust, mission and planning, leadership and organizational structure, collections stewardship, education and interpretation, financial stability, facilities and risk management.

Links to resources relevant to the field of museums:

American Alliance of Museums.
Organization for museum professionals. Website provides information for members, resources relevant to museum administration and education, museum jobs, recent publications, and more.
Association of Midwest Museums
Non-profit membership organization providing resources to museums and cultural agencies in an eight-state region in the Midwest, including Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
Code of Ethics for Museums
The AAM's code of ethics for museum professionals, covering governance, collections, and programs.
Museum Studies Training Directory
Smithsonian-sponsored list and links to graduate and undergraduate museum studies and training programs in the United States.
Museum Careers: Fit, Readiness & Development
Museum Employment Resource Center
Museum Jobs
Museum Jobs in the US and Canada as advertised through the American Alliance of Museums.
Museum Studies at the Smithsonian
The Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies (SCEMS) assists the museum community in acquiring and strengthening its understandings and practices of museology. This website is one of the Center's tools for serving the educational and informational needs of the field.
National NAGPRA
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act is a Federal law passed in 1990. NAGPRA provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural items -- human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, or objects of cultural patrimony -- to lineal descendants, and culturally affiliated Indian tribes and Native Hawaiian organizations
Northern States Conservation Care -- Exhibiting
Practical advice on recommended materials to use when constructing exhibits, choosing display cases, monitoring light levels, constructing mounts, and transporting artifacts.
Protecting Paper and Book Collections During Exhibition
Northeast Document Conservation Center's technical leaflet with specifications for lighting, case construction, mounts and handling loans of material for exhibit.
The Official Museum Directory
The most comprehensive online directory of museums in the United States.
What is a Museum?
Definition provided by the American Association of Museum that an institution must meet to participate in it its accreditation program.

MOBIUS

Materials not available at Kent Library might be found by searching MOBIUS (23 million items from libraries state-wide).

MOBIUS can be accessed from within the catalog by clicking on MOBIUS in the search string or the 'Search MOBIUS' button.

Ordering via MOBIUS requires identifying your cluster (MOBIUS-Southeast Missouri State University) and then entering your name and SØ number. Requested materials take approximately 3 - 5 days to arrive. You will be notified by e-mail when they are in.

Museum Studies Programs

The Cooperstown Graduate Program

Here are some schools that offer degree and certificate programs in museum studies. For information on additional programs, visit the Museum Studies Training Directory.