Newspapers - HP 200 - Historic preservation - Research Guides at Southeast Missouri State University

Newspaper sources and information

New York Times with Index: Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical St. Louis Post Dispatch: 1874-2003 This link opens in a new window The St. Louis Post-Dispatch is an important research tool for journalism scholars today. The Post-Dispatch isthe nation’s first paper with a color comics section. The St. Louis Post-Dispatch was noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. In addition to valuable coverage of pivotal regional events – the history of Anheuser-Busch, a massive smog problem, the completion of the landmark Gateway Arch – the daily publication provides a uniquely Midwestern perspective of local, national and international news.

Digitized Newspapers 1836-1922
Over 3300 newspapers digitized by the Library of Congress, including regional papers from Benton, Cape Girardeau, Doniphan, Farmington, Hayti, Jackson, and Marble Hill. Also see the pdf guides below for infomation on newspapers that Kent Library may also have on microfilm

About Chronicling America
Chronicling America provides access about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is derived from catalog records of state insititutions between 1980 and 2007 and funded by National Endowment for the Humanities funding.

100 years ago today Historic American Newspapers

Topics in Chronicling America

Search U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present
This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.

Print/microform newspapers

Newspaper indexes and newspapers on microfilm

Subject indexes to local newspapers are located in the Indexes and Abstracts area on the main floor of the library, directly west of the Mississippi Mugs coffee cart. Indexes include the Southeast Missourian, Missouri Cash Book Journal and Cape Girardeau Democrat newspapers for selected years.

The corresponding newspapers are in microfilm format, housed directly west of the periodicals services desk near the parking lot entryway. Microfilm readers are available in the vicinity

Chronicling America newspaper information

In the Kent Library Newspaper Titles list (PDF link below), most titles link to the Chronicling America site sponsored by the Library of Congress. This site lists dates a particular newspaper was published. For information on the a particular newspaper title held by Kent Library, please use thelibrary catalog to discover the date range held by the library.

Kent Library corrections are noted on the listing.

Chronicling America listings are sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Kent Library newspaper holdings are listed in the library catalog. Search by newspaper title.