Research Guides: Biology: Articles

Databases

Search indexes, abstracts, and databases to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. For a complete list of Kent Library's online indexes and databases, see the Find: databases page.

Biology specific databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Biology This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Biology Journals provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 415 titles, with more than 360 available in full text. With thousands of articles available online, ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments. ProQuest Biology Journals covers a wide range of biology-related topics, including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, and zoology.

List of life sciences oriented databases

General databases with some biology content

These databases search thousands of full text journals, magazines and newspapers - a good place to start and to find interdisciplinary sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 12,665 titles, with over 9,745 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.

Journals

Browsable list of online full text journals
Look in subject categories biology, biotechnology, environmental sciences, life sciences, oceanography, & zoology.

Paper indexes

To find historical/source materials, use the following print sources, located in the Indexes/Abstracts area on the main floor:

Biological Abstracts
Helminthological Abstracts
Zoological Record