A good research design using appropriate research method(s) ensures data obtained answers the research question effectively.
The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods by
The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods provides students and researchers with the most comprehensive resource covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues. This thoroughly revised edition continues to place critical emphasis on finding the tools that best fit the research question given the constraints of deadlines, budget, and available staff. Each chapter offers guidance on how to make intelligent and conscious tradeoffs so that one can refine and hone the research question as new knowledge is gained, unanticipated obstacles are encountered, or contextual shifts take place. Each chapter has been enhanced pedagogically to include more step-by-step procedures, more practical examples from various settings to illustrate the method, parameters to define when the method is most appropriate and when it is not appropriate. The editors also include numerous graphs, models, tip boxes to provide teaching and learning tools.Key Features of the Second EditionEmphasizes applying research techniques, particularly in "real-world" settings in which there are various data, money, time, and political constraintsContains new chapters on mixed methods, qualitative comparative analysis, concept mapping, and internet data collectionOffers a newly developed section that serves as a guide for students who are attempting to translate the content in the chapters into actionIntended AudienceThis Handbook is appropriate for introductory and intermediate research methods courses that focus intently on practical applications and a survey of the many methods available to budding researchers.
100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods by
"How do I create a good research hypothesis?""How do I know when my literature review is finished?""What is the difference between a sample and a population?""What is power and why is it important?"In an increasingly data-driven world, it is more important than ever for students as well as professionals to better understand the process of research. This invaluable guide answers the essential questions that students ask about research methods in a concise and accessible way.
Research Design by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Balance the time, strengths, and weakness of each method when selecting.
Select a research method based on your research goal and subjects to collect your data.
The method will produce different kinds of data (e.g., surveys produce short answers, experiments produce data in a controlled environment).