Research Guides: Fashion & Consumer Studies: Articles &amp; Databases

General databases

These databases search over 16,000 full text journals, magazines and newspapers - a good place to start and to find interdisciplinary sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar
another way of searching journal content. Many of the articles can be found full text in the above 3 databases or one of over 100 others
Kent Library via Google Scholar
How to set up Google Scholar on your personal browser to link to articles available full text in Kent Library databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
database of high quality images from museums around the world, including collections of fashion and historical costume
New York Times with Index: Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text and image of the New York times from 1851 until 5 years ago, with significant fashion coverage and includes advertiesements from throughout the years