Sports Management

The second edition of Branded: Branding in Sport Business examines significant brands associated with the sport industry. The brands profiled in this work identify successful practices that have been utilized in the business of sport to cultivate brand equity. The concept of branding is significant and has generated great interest in academic and professional circles. The notion of branding encompasses aspects such as collective images, messages, associations, and other characteristics associated with organizations, products, and people. The breadth of information presented in this work provides points of discussion and further examination pertaining to significant branding considerations impacting the sport industry.​​

Developing and implementing a systematic analytics strategy can result in a sustainable competitive advantage within the sport business industry. This timely and relevant book provides practical strategies to collect data and then convert that data into meaningful, value-added information and actionable insights. Its primary objective is to help sport business organizations utilize data-driven decision-making to generate optimal revenue from such areas as ticket sales and corporate partnerships. To that end, the book includes in-depth case studies from such leading sports organizations as the Orlando Magic, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Duke University, and the Aspire Group. The core purpose of sport business analytics is to convert raw data into information that enables sport business professionals to make strategic business decisions that result in improved company financial performance and a measurable and sustainable competitive advantage. Readers will learn about the role of big data and analytics in: Ticket pricing Season ticket member retention Fan engagement Sponsorship valuation Customer relationship management Digital marketing Market research Data visualization. This book examines changes in the ticketing marketplace and spotlights innovative ticketing strategies used in various sport organizations. It shows how to engage fans with social media and digital analytics, presents techniques to analyze engagement and marketing strategies, and explains how to utilize analytics to leverage fan engagement to enhance revenue for sport organizations. Filled with insightful case studies, this book benefits both sports business professionals and students. The concluding chapter on teaching sport analytics further enhances its value to academics.

Sport Marketing, Fourth Edition With Web Study Guide, has been streamlined and updated to keep pace with the latest information and issues in the competitive world of sport marketing. This text maintains its position as the best-selling and original text in the field, continuing to direct students to a better understanding of the theoretical backbone that makes sport marketing such a unique and vibrant subject to study. Using the new full-color format and companion web study guide, students will stay engaged as they explore how fans, players, coaches, the media, and companies interact to drive the sport industry. Heavily updated with more contributions from industry professionals and emphasis on social media platforms that have revolutionized the field in recent years, this edition contains practical material that prepares students for careers in sport marketing. It also includes these updates: *A web study guide featuring exclusive video interviews with industry professionals and accompanying activities that tie core concepts and strategies from the book into applied situations *Instructor ancillaries enhanced by gradable chapter quizzes that can be used with learning management systems *An attractive and engaging full-color interior *Chapter objectives, opening scenarios, engaging sidebars, and photos throughout the text that guide students in grasping important concepts *Wrap-Up, Activities, and Your Marketing Plan sections at the end of each chapter that offer opportunities for self-assessment and review The highly respected authors have long been recognized for their ability to define this exciting field, combining academic study and current research with industry experience for an unmatched learning experience for students preparing to enter the working world. The content in this fourth edition of Sport Marketing has been reorganized to make it easier to use in the classroom. Chapters 1 through 3 provide an overview of the field of sport marketing as an area of study and profession. Chapters 4 and 5 teach students how to research and study the behaviors of sport consumers, including an overview of marketing segmentation. Chapters 6 through 13 provide extensive information on the nuts and bolts of the field, including the five Ps of sport marketing and special sections on branding, sales and service, engagement and activation, community relations, and social media. The final chapters explore legal issues, integration, and the future of sport marketing. Instructors may also take advantage of the student web study guide and complete package of ancillaries to enhance learning and presentation of core concepts. All materials, including the web study guide, instructor guide, test package, presentation package plus image bank, and LMS-compatible chapter quizzes, are available online. The world of sport marketing continues to evolve. Sport Marketing, Fourth Edition With Web Study Guide, offers students a complete view of the expansive field of sport, providing an understanding of the foundations of sport marketing and how to enhance the sport experience.

As a sporting event planner, how do you keep up with the trends of the ticket buying public, sponsorship and merchandising while at the same time attending to the hundreds of management and operational details required to execute the event? A successful sports event requires a planner that can read signals from their market and plan strategically to maintain sponsors and a fill an arena.

Effective communications are essential for all sport organizations. In this fully revised and updated third edition of his ground-breaking guide to communications in sports, Joe Favorito introduces the skills, knowledge and techniques needed to become a successful communicator. Favorito outlines the history of sports communications, explores the most important professional themes, topics and issues, and highlights exciting opportunities for future development. With a strong emphasis on professional practice and the day-to-day realities of working in sports and entertainment, the book covers all the core functional areas such as: ·         Digital and social media strategy ·         Crisis management ·         Creative writing ·         The value of audio storytelling ·         The role of communications in business. This new edition includes more international cases and data, interviews, best practices, and expanded coverage of social media, gaming, eSports and technological developments in communications; discussion of key contemporary issues such as multicultural media relations and 'athletes as brands'; and an emphasis on the importance of strategic planning. No other book offers such a valuable insider's view of the sports communications industry or the importance of PR and media relations in building successful sports organizations. Sports Publicity: A Practical Approach is essential reading for all students working in sport business, marketing or communications, and any PR practitioner looking to improve their professional skills. The author maintains a podcast of updated best practices, The CUSP Show, which is widely available, as well as a blog of best practices at joefavorito.com. Both of these resources make the perfect companion to this book.

There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.

The Washington Redskins franchise remains one of the most valuable in professional sports, in part because of its easily recognizable, popular, and profitable brand.   And yet "redskins" is a derogatory name for American Indians. The number of grassroots campaigns to change the name has risen in recent years despite the current team owner's assertion that the team will never do so. Franchise owners counter criticism by arguing that the team name is positive and a term of respect and honor that many American Indians embrace. The NFL, for its part, actively defends the name and supports it in court. Prominent journalists, politicians, and former players have publicly spoken out against the use of "Redskins" as the name of the team. Sportscaster Bob Costas denounced the name as a racial slur during a halftime show in 2013. U.S. Representative Betty McCollum marched outside the stadium with other protesters--among them former Minnesota Vikings player Joey Browner--urging that the name be changed. Redskins: Insult and Brand examines how the ongoing struggle over the team name raises important questions about how white Americans perceive American Indians, about the cultural power of consumer brands, and about continuing obstacles to inclusion and equality. C. Richard King examines the history of the team's name, the evolution of the term "redskin," and the various ways in which people both support and oppose its use today. King's hard-hitting approach to the team's logo and mascot exposes the disturbing history of a moniker's association with the NFL--a multibillion-dollar entity that accepts public funds--as well as popular attitudes toward Native Americans today.

Professional football today is an $8 billion sports entertainment industry--and the most popular spectator sport in America, with designs on expansion across the globe. In this astute field-level view of the National Football League since 1960, Michael Oriard looks closely at the development of the sport and at the image of the NFL and its unique place in American life. New to the paperback edition is Oriard's analysis of the offseason labor negotiations and their potential effects on the future of the sport, and his account of how the NFL is dealing with the latest research on concussions and head injuries.