Research Guides: Agriculture: Background Information

Background Information

Reference works such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are a great place to start your research project. These background information sources provide overviews of a wide variety of subjects. Several reference books relating to agriculture are suggested on this page. It is not a complete list, so contact a librarian or search the catalog to find more.

Reference Databases

These two search tools can search in many of Kent Library's online encyclopedias and dictionaries. They are a great place to start.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1,250+ reference titles covering a wide range of subjects. Featuring a unique concept mapping/visual search functionality and other useful research tools.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works, including detailed information across a broad subject range.

General Agricultural Reference

These sources cover a number of agricultural topics.

Agriculture for Improved Nutrition by Shenggen Fan (Editor); Sivan Yosef (Editor); Rajul Pandya-Lorch (Editor)
Call Number: Credo eBook
Publication Date: 2019-04-15
Agriculture's vast potential to improve nutrition is just beginning to be tapped. New ideas, research, and initiatives developed over the past decade have created an opportunity for reimagining and redesigning agricultural and food systems for the benefit of nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by Neal K. Van Alfen
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2014
This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline
Encyclopedia of Agriculture Research by Gary C. Reiter; Caleb J. Schuster
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2012
This book presents and discusses current research in the study of agriculture, with a particular focus on technology, production and economics.

Animal Science

Encyclopedia of Animal Science (2nd ed.) by Wilson G. Pond; Duane E. Ullrey; Charlotte Kirk Baer
Call Number: Reference SF61 .E496 2011 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2011
Discusses topics ranging from adaptation and stress, to zoos and aquariums. With 2500 references and hundreds of figures, equations, and tables, it covers new developments in genomics, transgenesis, cloning, and mathematical model constructions.
Black's Veterinary Dictionary by Edward Boden; Anthony Andrews
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment.
The Encyclopedia of Applied Animal Behaviour and Welfare by Daniel S. Mills
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2010
The practical focus of this authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia aims to promote the understanding and improvement of animals' behavior without compromising welfare.

Plant and Soil Science

Encyclopedia of Soil Science, Third Edition by Rattan Lal
Call Number: Reference S592 .E517 2017 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2017
Covers all branches of soil science including pedology, mineralogy, physics, soil mechanics, hydrology, chemistry, biology, ecology and management, and restoration of problem/degraded soils. Thematic topics dealing with soil management address numerous challenges including soil structure, tillage methods and mulch farming, irrigation, drainage and water table management, fertilizer and nutrient management, erosion control, and management of soil organic matter.
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by Michael Allaby
Call Number: Credo eBook
ISBN: 9780198833338
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology by P. Vidhyasekaran
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2004
A dictionary of plant pathological terms and a complete list of crop diseases, accepted names, synonyms, and anamorphic/telemorphic names of pathogens.

Horticulture

The Dictionary of Science for Gardeners by Michael Allaby
Call Number: ProQuest ebook
Publication Date: 2015
The Dictionary of Science for Gardeners is the first of its kind to provide practical scientific descriptions for gardening terms. highlighting 16 branches of science that are of particular interest to gardeners.
The Oxford Companion to the Garden by Patrick Taylor
Call Number: Oxford ebook
Publication Date: 2006
Combines a survey of the world's gardens, biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others, and entries on the worlds of horticulture and plantsmanship, with articles on a range of topics from garden visiting to garden elements and styles, and from scientific issues to the social history of gardens.
Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design by Candace Shoemaker
Call Number: Reference SB450.95 .E49 2001 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2001
A wide range of topics are explored, including important people in the history of gardening and landscaping.
The A to Z of Plant Names by Allen J. Coombes
Call Number: Reference QK96 .C78 2012 (3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2012
This comprehensive yet handy guide features the botanic names of the plants that gardeners really grow. Additional information includes suggested pronunciation, the common name, the derivation of the scientific name, the number of species currently accepted, the type of plant and the distribution.

Agriculture

Message Us

Email Us

Visit Us

Call Us