Resources - MC 382 - Media History - Research Guides at Southeast Missouri State University

Welcome

This resource guide was created to help the students of MC 382 - Media History to research and find relevant resources for the three main class projects: First Amendment mini-lesson, underrepresented media figure nomination, and media milestone.

This guide has been divided into these three projects to help with ease. You will see some overlap of databases listed. Please feel being your research with the resources listed below and/or the other resources found on the Kent Library's Articles and Database page.

First Amendment Mini Lesson

The First Amendment of the Constitution of the United States addresses five key freedoms: freedom of religion, freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom for people to peaceably assemble, and freedom for people to petition the Government for a redress of grievances. The resources below can help you find sources for any of these five areas.

America: History & Life
This database of historical documents on all things American will provide you access to various documents to help explore the various facets of the First Amendment.
Credo Reference
This reference database provides access to full-text articles and reference publications.
HeinOnline
This large database will provide you with access to legal and government documents on the First Amendement.
Issues and Controversies
This database will provide you with access to more current resources on the freedoms covered in the First Amendment.

Underrepresented Media Figure Nomination

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database is best used once you have a media figure in mind to find resources in a multitude of forms to enrich your nomination.
Biography Reference Center
This database can help you find a concise biographical sketch of your notable media figure with searches that can be narrowed based on ethnicity, area, and other important limiters.
Google Scholar
This web browser that focuses on scholarly resources can help you discover media figures along with resources to enrich your work.
The History Makers
This unique database provides access to thousands of video testimonies from notable and unsung African Americans past and present, helping you to discover media figures and information about them.
ProQuest Research Library
Best used once you have a media figure in mind, this powerful multidisciplinary database can be used to search for scholarly, newspaper, and magazine articles among other resources.

Media Milestone

Credo Reference
This reference database provides access to full-text articles and books that can provide meaningful background on a number of topics.
Issues and Controversies
This database can help you find more recent resources on most topics. Depending on your milestone, this database could be helpful.
New York Times Historical Issues
A great place for you to start finding milestones through headlines and articles in historical copies of the New York Timers.
Southeast Missourian
For local milestones: We do not have digital copies of the Southeast Missourian, we do have physical and microfilm copies starting in 1925.
St. Louis Post Dispatch
For regional milestones: We have physical and microfilm copies of the St. Louis Post Dispatch back to 1879.

Other Resources

Mass Media Specific Database List
This webpage provides a list of databases that cater specifically to Mass Media topics. These six databases can be used in a general or more specific way for research.