Skip to main content

Research Help for Regional Campus & Online Students

This page provides useful information to help students at SEMO's regional campuses and those taking online courses.

Accessing Databases

The library subscribes to many different databases that search the indexes of thousands of journals to help you find articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, as well as streaming videos and more!  You can search and get full text from any computer with Internet.

  1. Begin at the Kent Library Homepage and click on Articles & Databases.
  2. At this point you will need to select a database. Some databases search materials in a specific subject (ex. education, business), while search specific formats of information (ex. news, ebooks).
    • The default tab has three databases that search many formats of information in many subjects. They are good starting points.
    • The Databases A-Z tab lets you browse or search for a database you know of already.
    • Databases by Subject organizes databases useful for particular subject areas based on academic programs at Southeast.
    • Databases by Type organizes databases by special formats, such as streaming audio, ebooks, statistics, and streaming video.
  3. When you click on the name of the database, you may be prompted to enter your SEKey and password (the same you would use to log in to Portal or Moodle).

Still not sure what database to pick?  Try one suggested in a Research Guide for your subject or class or contact the reference desk.

Getting Full Text

Once you have found the description for a useful article in a database, you will need to get the article itself. The full article is called the "full text" in a library database.

  1. Next to some articles you will see words like Full Text, PDF Full Text, or HTML Full Text  You can click on any of these to see the entire article on your screen. Most databases will allow you to download a copy of the article.
full text button full text button full text button full text button
full text button full text button full text button full text button full text button
  1. If there is not full text in the database, you will instead see a link that says "Check full text finder for for full text."  This link will search the entire library collection for the full-text of your article.
    • The link will open a new page and the article linker service.
    • If the article is available in another database, those databases will be listed as links in the article linker.
    • Clicking the link will redirect you to the full-text article.
  2. If we do not have the article in our collection, a "Request through Interlibrary Loan" link will be displayed in the article linker. Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows us to try to find copies of articles from other libraries for you.
    • You automatically have an interlibrary loan account that you can access with your SEKey and password. First-time users will need to fill out some contact information. 
    • After logging in, you should be sent to a form with the citation information for the article you want to request. Hit "Submit" if all of the citation information is correct.
    • An email will be sent when the article is available.
    • It can take approximately a week for us to obtain access to the article.

Document Delivery

Anytime we have an article in the print periodical collection at Kent Library, it will be labeled "Holdings in Kent Library" in the article linker. The library will scan and send any article from our print periodical collection and send it to you. 

To do so, click the Interlibrary Loan link as if we did not have the article in our collection and submit your request. Staff will scan the article for you and send an email when it is available for your use.   

Citing Your Sources

Citing your sources is important because it gives credit to the person who published the idea originally, and allows readers to check your evidence.  Your instructor should tell you which style of citation to use (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).

Resources:

Use Kent Library's 'Citation Styles: MLA, APA, Chicago, and more' research guide for recommended websites and style guides for citing your sources.

Southeast's Writing Lab
Ask a question, complete an interactive tutorial, and more.  You can submit a draft of your paper and receive feedback online.

If you need help searching the databases, filling out the Interlibrary Loan form, citing sources, or if you are experiencing extenuating circumstances that prohibit you from accessing or retrieving materials, please contact the reference desk .