Research Guides: Industry & Company Information: Company Information

Multi-Purpose Business Databases

These databases search a mix of news stories, company profiles, analyst reports, and other tools for company research.

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Company & industry specific profiles, reports, case studies, and journal and trade articles. In the database, select 'Data & Reports' for profiles, reports, case studies. Use 'Advanced Search' to find articles in journals and trade publications.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window Searches market research reports including Hoover's Company Profiles which cover company financials, key people, rankings, industry information, and competitors.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window MarketLine company profiles, industry surveys, market research reports, fulltext journals and trade publications. In the database, you will find direct links to some of these features in the boxes located in the right hand column.

Use these sources for company financial information such as income, profits, cash flow, stock performance, and dividends.

Edgar Company Filings | Securities and Exchange Commission Search the financial filings of publicly-traded companies with the SEC. Search by name, ticker symbol, the the central index key (CIK) for that company.
more...less...
Find a company's CIK, a standardized SEC identifier useful for tracking companies that have changed name or ticker symbol over time.
Hoover's Company Records Company information on thousands of public and non-public companies including location, competitors and more. Also includes summary financials, top officers and company history for public companies.

The Value Line Investment Survey Company and industry investment analysis.
Call Number: Reference HG4501 .V26 2018 (3rd floor)

Find current events on companies.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Searches regional business publications. Great for finding news on smaller companies or for how larger companies operate at a local level.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full text of national, regional and local newspapers from across the US
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Searches national, international, and local newspapers, most of which have business coverage.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full text of newspapers worldwide.

The Public Register Online
A free source for online company annual reports.
OEM Market and Manufacturing Industry
Comprehensive listing of manufacturing and supplier companies serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Patent applications and granted patents can be searched for and retrieved at this site. These provide clues to future company product development.