Research Guides: Economics: Find Background Information

What is a Reference Source?

Encyclopedias and other reference works are an excellent place to start a research project by helping you get a foundation in a topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this great product to access almost 1,000 full text online reference books, including numerous books pertaining to economics.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this to access several hundred academic full text online reference books, including economic-related books. Has an international focus.

Economics: The Definitive Encyclopedia from Theory to Practice by David A. Dieterle (editor)
Call Number: ProQuest ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Introductions to 800 topics on economic theory and practice. Each introduction is written by an expert author and contains suggested further readings.
* Volume 1: Foundations of Economics
* Volume 2: Macroeconomics
* Volume 3: Microeconomics
* Volume 4:Global Economics
21st Century Economics by Rhona C. Free (editor)
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, helpful for students trying to get a big picture sense of the field. Includes introductions to relevant theory as well as empirical evidence.
Basic Economics: A Common Sense Guide to the Economy by Thomas Sowell
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Introduces the basics of economics through sections on prices & markets, industry & commerce, work & pay, time & risk, the national economy, the international economy, and special economic issues.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Summarizes key thinkers and ideas in the history of economic thinking.

Government and the Economy : An Encyclopedia by Kathleen C. Simmons & David Anthony Dieterle (editors)
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Introduces the U.S. government's role in the economy and its historical development.
Guide to U. S. Economic Policy by Robert E. Wright & Thomas W. Zeiler (editors)
Call Number: Sage ebook
Publication Date: 2014
This guide overviews the ways the US government interacts with the economy and details major issues and challenges in contemporary economic policy.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry & Juliet B. Schor (editors)
Call Number: Sage ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Overviews how economic issues impacts society at large.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by Kenneth A. Reinert & Ramkishen S. Rajan (editors)
Call Number: Credo ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Explains the key elements of the world economy through entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.