Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Guide for Library Services During COVID-19

Finding eBooks in the Catalog

  1. Go the the Kent Library Catalog. You may need to login with your SE Key and password. 
  2. Image of "Catalog" tabClick over to the "Catalog" tab. 
  3. Enter your search words or click "Advanced Search" for more options. 
  4. On the left side, find the heading that says "Location." Check the "eResources" box to only look at things available online, Image of heading "Location" and checkbox "eResources"including our eBooks. 
  • You can further limit to eBooks using the checkboxes under the "Format" heading. 

  1. Scan your results for the eBook you want. There will be a link that says "click to access" or "click here." You will be taken to a new page with the eBook. 
  2. You may have to login with your SE Key and password if you haven't already.
  3. Image of eBook link, text "SEMO eBook: Click to access"The eBook should have a way to get a permanent link directly to the eBook or send yourself an email with the link back to it. 

eBook Databases

Besides the catalog, you can search for eBooks in a number of our eBook databases. They do not search the whole eBook collection like the catalog, but they can search the whole book.

EBSCO's eBook Collection is our largest eBook database and covers a variety of subjects. For our full list of eBook databases, go to the Databases by Type page and find the eBooks heading. 

Getting Research Assistance

Even though you may not be able to come in to the library, we are here to work with you in any way we can. Use these methods to communicate with us virtually. 

  • Chat: for immediate answers to questions on how to find and use library resources. 
  • Video appointments: for in-depth, one-on-one assistance with a librarian.
  • Email: for questions that do not need an immediate answer or for when chat is offline. 

Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Video Appointments

Email

kentreference@semo.edu