Music

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instrumentsis the definitive guide to over 12,000 musical instruments from around the world. It encompasses western, non-western, and developing-world cultures, and includes classical, folk, and popular music. It also covers instruments of all ages--from the ancient water organ to the synthesizer. TheDictionarydescribes each instrument individually and in the context of instrument families. It charts the history, development, musical function, and inter-cultural links of each instrument as well as its construction, performance practice and technique. The New Grove Dictionaryalso explores the cultures and societies that have created these instruments and the various non-musical functions of certain instruments. The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instrumentsincludes: Unprecedented coverage of Western musical instruments--from early European instruments, to the development of the organ and the violin, and continuing into the twentieth century with computers and synthesizers 6,000 articles on non-western developing-world and folk instruments Detailed catalogs of the world's private and public instrument collections, a survey of forgery, and a study of restoration and maintenance techniques Articles on performance practice and technique--such as tuning, ornamentation, fingering and improvisation Biographies of instrument makers--from the Greek inventor Ctesibius to the violin makers of Italy to today's manufacturing giants

including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music

Bibliography of 3000 study and performance scores divided into 12 genres.

Discography of 7000 recordings in broad categories of Western classical music, traditional and popular musics of the Americas and Europe, and musics of the non-Western world.

Each of the 10 volumes has an accompanying CD of music recordings in the IM Center under the same call number