Below are Dewey Decimal and Library of Congress call numbers. In 2018, new books will use Library of Congress call numbers.
Dewey
Library of Congress
Gifted Education by 
Music, Language and Autism: Exceptional Strategies for Exceptional Minds by
Children with autism often have an intense natural musicality. This book explains how music and language 'work' as systems of communication, and why music holds such a fascination for many young people on the autism spectrum. There are strategies for showing how music can be used to support language development and even substitute for verbal communication. Exploring the progression from a young child's intuitive engagement with music, to using it as a scaffold for communication, socialisation and understanding, the book illustrates, through the use of detailed case studies, how music nurtures a sense of self and provides a positive outlet to express inner thoughts and feelings without resorting to challenging or even destructive behaviours. Presenting an innovative approach to the use of music with people on the autism spectrum, this book will be a fascinating resource for speech and language therapists, music therapists, occupational therapists, teachers, teaching assistants, educational psychologists, carers and parents of people with autism.
Special Education in the Early Years by
This book explores policies and practices in special education in the early years, highlighting shared enablers and barriers. It examines research, policies and practices from different Nordic countries and discusses the theory and empirical data underlying the research. It looks at specific issues including gifted children, social inequality and exclusion, teaching children with autism, inclusive practice, language and emotions. The book offers critical perspectives, highlights potential developmental objects and gives recommendations for further research as well as policy and practice. The book features many aspects of the so-called Nordic model - the economic and social policies common to the Nordic Countries: Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden. The findings provide important insights into the Nordic model and advance the understanding of relevant issues facing the Nordic countries.
Supporting the Child of Exceptional Ability at Home and School by
Drawing on theories of child development and on research in the processes of learning, this book examines the challenges that children, parents and teachers may face at various stages of a child's development. Children whose development is unusual in any way may experience particular challenges in forming relationships and in making good progress in school. If we are to help children of exceptional ability to develop into confident and well-adjusted young people, we need to understand what lies behind many of the common frustrations and problems some of them may experience. This book looks at ways in which supportive learning environments can be created in which children and young people's abilities can be nurtured and encouraged. Ways in which the school curriculum can be extended and enriched to maintain children's interest and enthusiasm in their learning are also explored. This will be of particular interest to parents, teachers and educational psychologists, to teachers in training, and to other professionals who support the work of families and schools.
Understanding Students with Additional Needs as Learners by
This book brings together a compendium of the collaborative research from eight PhD students and three researchers, addressing an existing problem for teachers of students with additional learning needs in mainstream classes. The purpose of this research is to describe the development of growth progressions in communication and literacy, interpersonal skills and understanding of emotions, learning skills, numeracy, movement, digital literacy, thinking and problem-solving skills among students with additional needs in the classroom, known as SWANS (Students with Additional Needs). The research has grown over a decade or more and this volume brings all that research together under a single cover in a way that has not been done before. It shows how work conducted at the same system and school level that led to the design of curriculum support for SWANS, drawing on the research to establish expected learning progressions, was linked to a mainstream curriculum. It also illustrates strategies and materials that could be used by mainstream teachers or special education teachers to make teaching SWANS practical and effective. The book offers new insights, and a ready to use volume of material for curriculum writers, student teachers, researchers, and special education teachers and administrators.
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent by
Library Journal Best Reference 2009 Educators have begun to recognize that identifying and accommodating students who are slower to learn may leave behind those who learn rapidly and think creatively. The nature of intelligence, the sources of innovation, and the ways to nurture special abilities are now topics of great interest to scholars in a wide variety of disciplines and to the general public. Policymakers, ranging from school board members to leaders of nations, must also make practical decisions about how communities and societies will treat their brightest, most promising students. With more than 400 entries, these two volumes review research findings on giftedness, talent, and creativity and their effect on education, training, science and the arts, government policy, and everyday life. The Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent provides a balanced, objective assessment of the various perspectives on the nature of intelligence, innovation, and optimal states. This state-of-the-art resource covers all major facets of the field, including achievement motivation, artistic ability, creative personality, emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority underrepresentation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self actualization, thinking skills, and more. Key Themes Assessment and Identification Creativity Studies Cultural Issues Education Eminent People Exceptionalities Intelligence Neuroscience and Genetics Populations Programs and Interventions Psychological Issues Talent Domains Theories and Models Key Features Provides a balanced and critical discussion of the controversies that have animated research and theory making
Encyclopedia of Special Education, Volume 1 by
The only comprehensive reference devoted to specialeducation The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of SpecialEducation addresses issues of importance ranging fromtheory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers aswell as those working in the special education field. Thiscompletely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topicsthat have grown in importance since the publication of the thirdedition, such as technology, service delivery policies,international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editionsof assessment instruments frequently administered in specialeducation settings are discussed. Only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to specialeducation Edited and written by leading researchers and scholars in thefield New edition includes over 200 more entries than previousedition, with increased attention given to those topics that havegrown in importance since the publication of the thirdedition?such as technology, service delivery policies,international issues, neuropsychology, and Response toIntervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports(PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis Entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of theassessment instruments frequently administered in special educationsettings Includes an international list of authors and descriptions ofspecial education in 35 countries Includes technology and legal updates to reflect a rapidlychanging environment Comprehensive and thoroughly up to date, this is the essential, A-Zcompilation of authoritative information on the education of thosewith special needs.
The SAGE Handbook of Special Education by
The second edition of The SAGE Handbook of Special Education provides a comprehensive overview of special education, offering a wide range of views on key issues from all over the world. The contributors bring together up-to-date theory, research and innovations in practice, with an emphasis on future directions for the role of special education in a global context of inclusion. This brand new edition features: " New chapters on families, interagency collaboration and issues of lifelong learning " The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities " Policy reform proposals " Equity and social justice in education " The impact of new thinking on assessment " Issues and developments in classification " The preparation and qualifications that teachers need The Handbook′s breadth, clarity and academic rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students, and also for practitioners, teachers, school managers and administrators.
Special Education by
A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Updated through current events, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects-how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.