Research Guides: Theatre: Books & Videos

Online Catalogs

Search the online catalogs for: print and electronic books; streaming video and audio, DVD's and government documents. The Kent Library Catalog searches our collection. The MOBIUS Catalog searches other Missouri college and university library collections and allows you to request their physical materials be shipped our campus.

Kent Library Catalog Hit "Request" to have a print book or DVD pulled from the shelf and held for you at the Circulation Desk, the ARC on River Campus, or any of the regional campuses. You login with your SE Key and password.
MOBIUS Catalog Hit "Request" to ship print books and DVDs from other libraries to Kent Library, the ARC on the River Campus, or the regional campuses. Your password is your Southeast ID (S0 number) with "semo" added at the end (ex. S05555555semo).

Ebook Databases

Recommended ebook databases.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Searches eBooks in a variety of subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Search thousands of eBooks in a variety of subjects.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A virtual reference library containing thousands of titles from over 100 publishers.

Streaming Video Databases

Subject Headings

Every book in the library has been tagged with subject headings that describe broadly what it is about. When you find one book, you can use its subject heading(s) to find books on similar topics. Clicking on a hyperlinked subject heading in a catalog record will generate a result list of all titles owned by Kent Library that have been assigned that subject heading.

Call Numbers

Kent Library is in the process of converting library materials to Library of Congress (LC) call numbers. Until this conversion is complete, collections will be housed in both Dewey and LC. Call numbers, whether Dewey or LC, are assigned to represent a subject that describes what the book is about. As a result, book(s) you find in the catalog may be shelved next to books on similar topics. You can often find more sources by looking around on the shelf by the book(s) you found using the catalog.

Library of Congress Classes and Subjects for Theatre

GT 500-GT 2289 Costumes -- History/Description
GT 2290-GT 2341 Hair, cosmetics
GT 1747 Masks
ND 2885 Scene painting
NK 8802-NK8998 Textile arts
PN 1600-PN 3307 Drama
PN 2068 Make-up
PN 2091 .E4 Electric devices; stage lighting
PN 2091 .S8 Stage settings; scenery
PN 2061-PN 2071 Art of acting
PN 2085-PN 2091 The stage and accessories
PN 2091 .S6 Sound effects
PN 21310PN2145 Ancient theatre history
PN 2152-PN2160 Medieval theatre history
PN 2171-PN2179 Renaissance theatre history
PN 2181-PN2193 Modern theatre history
PN 3035 The Jewish Theatre
PN 6110.5-PN 6120 Play collections*
PR 612-PR 739 English literature-drama
PS 330-PS 352 American literature-drama
TS 545-TT 850 Costumes--Construction

*Located on Kent Library third floor against the wall behind the Reference collection.

Theatre

Research Assistance

Message Us

Email Us

Visit Us

Call Us