Skip to main content

SW110: Introduction to Social Work - Hornby

The easiest way to find professional, peer-reviewed journal articles available from Kent Library is using our databases. Each database searches a part of our collection. To access the databases off campus, you will need your SE Key and password.

Databases for Social Work Research

E-Journal Portal

When you know a particular journal you want to look for, you can find what databases hold in using the E-Journal Portal. 

Source type limits in EBSCO and ProQuestIdentifying Professional Journal Articles

Not every result in a databases is a professional journal article. There are ways to limit your results to just articles found in professional (peer-reviewed) journals. In most databases this is labeled "source type," and is often located on the left side of your search results. The terms used to identify professional journals may be different in each database. Clicking that limit will remove all results not from a peer-reviewed journal.

However, not every article in a peer-reviewed journal is peer reviewed. These journals have opinion pieces, news sections, reviews of books and products, and more that is not research. 

Some terms and phrases that are often a sign that an article is not a peer-reviewed article: editorial, from the editor, letter(s), feature, column, commentary, viewpoint(s), a response to, a reflection on, an interview with, review, and an introduction to.

Getting the Article

One you have found an article that you want to read in your results, you will need to get access to it. In many databases, clicking the title of the article will take you to a record page describing the article, not the article itself. To access the actual article, you will need to find the link to "full text." This link will likely be labeled "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text," or just "Full Text."

Examples of full text links in ProQuest and EBSCO databases.

If there is no full-text link, then that database does not have the article. However, we may have it in a different database. Click the link that says "look for full text." This will check all of Kent Library's other resources for your article. A new window will open, and if the article is available elsewhere, there will be a link saying "Full text available via" and the name of the database. The article may be in multiple databases. 

An example of a journal where the "Full text available via" link is present.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have this article anywhere in our collection, the new window will say "No full text available," and below it a link that says "Request document via interlibrary loan." Interlibrary loan is a free service where the library staff tries to find your article in another library and send it to you, usually via email.

Images of the "Request document via Interlibrary loan" and "Holdings in Kent Library Catalog" pages.Click the link and then log in. The first time you use interlibrary loan, you will need to register an account. You will then be taken to a form, which likely will already be filled out, to enter citation information about your article. Click "Submit Request" at the bottom to send in your request. 

You will receive an email when your article is available. It usually takes up to a week. Sometimes the library cannot get a copy of the article. 

You may also run into a situation where there is no full text available, but it does say "Holdings in Kent Library Catalog." This means that the print version of the journal is in the Kent Library. If you click the interlibrary loan link and fill out the form as described above, library staff will scan and send you a copy of your article.