Research Guides: UI100- The Mathematics of Art: Archival Research: Archival materials

Archival Materials

Archival Materials provide information about particular archival collections in which you will find information about your building. These collections include primary sources such as correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, ledgers and journals. These collections do not leave the archives, so it is important to make time to use them when the archives is open.

Special Collections and Archives (Room 306, Kent Library) is open:

Monday to Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm

The collections listed below are meant to get you started with your research. There may be many other collections that will have information about your specific building in other collections in the archives.

University Buildings and Grounds Collection

University Buildings and Grounds Collection, 1906-1998

This collection contains booklets, programs, correspondence, proposals, blueprints, and other documents on Southeast Missouri State University campus buildings including Academic Hall, Cheney Hall, Kent Library, the Show Me Center, the University Center and Wildwood, the President’s Home.

University Buildings and Grounds Collection
Use this collection to search for information about your particular building. The finding aid (located in the External Documents section) contains a table of contents at the beginning (along with descriptions of each building) to help you search.

Historic Preservation Association, Brief History of the Campus

Historic Preservation Association (HPA) Brief History of the Campus, undated.
Three page history of some of the buildings on Southeast Missouri State University’s main campus, prepared by the Southeast Missouri State University Historic Preservation Association.

If you are interested in seeing this document, please ask the archives staff to bring it out for you.

Historic Preservation Association (HPA) Brief History of the Campus

Southeast Missouri State University Library Records

This collection contains books, correspondence, reports, catalogs, pamphlets and scrapbooks pertaining to the daily functions, programs, events, and history of the Southeast Missouri State University library.

Kent Library Records
Use this collection to search for information about Kent Library. The finding aid (located in the External Documents section) contains a table of contents at the beginning to assist you in searching for different materials.

Visual Materials in Special Collections and Archives

Visual Materials in Special Collections and Archives
This subject guide lists all of the different collections within the archives that have photographs and visual materials.

This guide will be useful for you to find information about your specific building. Try using "control + f" to find your building by name in the guide.

Digital Collections

Southeast Missouri State University Photograph Collection
Special Collections and Archives maintains a large collection of images related to the history of Southeast Missouri State University. Subject categories of the photographs include: faculty and administrators, commencement, student organizations, athletics, campus social life, and buildings and grounds.

Use the search bar on this page to search for specific buildings. Once you have selected images you would like for your project, keep a list and identify the ones you want with the “Local Identifier” listed in the “description” of the image.