Skip to main content

Research Help for Regional Campus & Online Students

This page provides useful information to help students at SEMO's regional campuses and those taking online courses.

This page contains the following information:

  • Accessing library databases
  • Getting full text articles
  • Citing your sources

Accessing Databases

The library subscribes to many different databases that search the indexes of thousands of journals to help you find articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, as well as streaming videos and more!  You can search and get full text from any computer with Internet.

1. Begin at the Kent Library Homepage and click on Articles & Databases.

2. At this point you will need to select a database.  Some databases cover a certain academic subject, while others search many subject areas. 

You can choose a database based on your topic from the 'Databases Subject' listing in the bottom right-hand corner of the page. 

Still not sure what database to pick?  Try one suggested in a Research Guide, or contact the reference desk.

3.  When you click on the name of the database, you may be prompted to enter your SE Key and password (the same you would use to log in to Portal or Moodle).

Getting Full Text

1. Once you have chosen a database and logged in, you will need to enter your topic and press the search button to get a list of results.

2. Next to some articles you will see words like Full Text, PDF, or HTML  You can click on any of these to see the entire article on your screen.  Sometimes you will have the option to choose HTML or PDF.  An HTML document is smaller than a PDF, so if you have a slow connection you may want to choose that.  You need Adobe Acrobat installed on your computer to open PDF files.  PDF files will include the images and formatting of a print document.

full text button full text button full text button full text button
full text button full text button full text button full text button full text button

3. If there is not full text in the database, you will instead see the words look for full text.  Click on these words to see if full text is available in another database.

When you click on look for full text, an Article Linker window will open.  If there is full text in another database, you can click full text available via to access it.

 4. If we do not have the article in our collection, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request that we obtain articles from another library. It can take approximately a week for us to obtain access to the article.

Logon to ILLiad or create an account if you do not have one. You can create an account by selecting the 'First Time Users' option.

Document Delivery

Anytime we have an article in the print periodical collection at Kent Library, it will be labeled Holdings in Kent Library in the Article Linker. The library will scan and send any article from our print periodical collection and send it to you. 

To do so, click the Interlibrary Loan link as if we did not have the article in our collection and submit your request. Staff will scan the article for you and send an email when it is available for your use.   

Citing Your Sources

Citing your sources is important because it gives credit to the person who published the idea originally, and allows readers to check your evidence.  Your instructor should tell you which style of citation to use (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).

Resources:

Use Kent Library's 'Citation Styles: MLA, APA, Chicago, and more' research guide for recommended websites and style guides for citing your sources.

Southeast's Writing Lab
Ask a question, complete an interactive tutorial, and more.  You can submit a draft of your paper and receive feedback online.

If you need help searching the databases, filling out the Interlibrary Loan form, citing sources, or if you are experiencing extenuating circumstances that prohibit you from accessing or retrieving materials, please contact the reference desk .