Full text articles are potentially available in two different formats: HTML and PDF.
HTML is just the text of the article, while the PDF can contain images or tables. The PDF is like a photograph of the original article.
Tip: The file size of a PDF article is typically much larger than the HTML and will take longer to download if you are using a slow internet connection.
Not all articles in a database are available in full text. However, it is possible that an article will be available full text in one of Kent Library's other databases. To check, click on "look for full text" in the article record.
Article Linker - The 'look for full text' link will take you to a new page with links directly to the article in another database. If the article is not available in another database, you can still make an interlibrary loan request. You might also be able to request the article via CCC Get It Now. See examples below.
OR
OR
Interlibrary Loan
(ILL) - To make the ILL request, click the Interlibrary Loan Request link. You will then need to log in or set up an Interlibrary Loan account if you do not have one already. Articles typically take 7-10 business days to arrive and will be available electronically via your email. You will receive an email when your article is available.
Get It Now
Click the link. You will land on a page where you enter your email address for purposes of sending the article to you. The article will arrive in less than a day.
Tip: Access the interlibrary Loan page by clicking the Find Materials > Books & Media on the Kent Library homepage.
In the databases, articles that are available in full text can be saved or printed. Another great way to get the articles is by emailing them to yourself. Here is what the email option typically looks like:
#1 - Articles can be sent to any email address: semo.edu, gmail.com, whatever you use.
#2 - Make sure to check this box to have the article sent along with the email.
#3 - Choosing "Citation Format" and then choose the citation style you want - APA, MLA, etc. Remember that just as with the citation tool in the database, you'll always want to double check these citations to ensure they are formatted correctly.
Tip: In the email you will always receive a link back to the article, so that you can find it again in the database.
If you already have a citation or are looking for a particular journal, the most efficient way to see if Kent Library has access to the journal is via the E-journal portal. It can be be accessed from the Library homepage at Articles & Databases > EJournal Portal or directly from the library's homepage. Enter the title of the journal, such as Nutrition and Dietetics.
First. click the Go button and you will be taken to a list of databases in which the journal can be found.
Next, click the database name where full text access to the journal is available. You will then see a listing of all the years for which the journal is available. From there you can drill down to a specific article or browse an issue.