Research Guides: American History: Find Articles

Find Articles

To find recent articles and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles use the following online databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window ProQuest Research Library is a collection of journals, magazines and newspapers for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.

Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in History 1838-1974 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Humanities Index, 1974+ (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
International Index to Periodicals, 1907-1966 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
New York Times Index, 1851+ (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Periodical Literature, 1802-1906 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1900+ (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)
Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1966-1974 (located in the Indexes/Abstracts area, main floor)