Research Guides: Historic Preservation: The Built Environment

Search the Library Catalog

Historic Preservation Technology by Robert A. Young
Call Number: 690.24 Y868h
Publication Date: 2008
Building Evaluation for Adaptive Reuse and Preservation by John S. Rabun; Richard Kelso; J. Stanley Rabun; Richard Miles Kelso
Call Number: 721.0288 R1141b
Publication Date: 2009

To find additional books on preservation of the built environment, search the Kent Library catalog.

Find Articles

Use these links below to find articles in library subscription journals.

You can use and, or, & not to make your search more precise.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, dating as far back as 1922. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library is a collection of journals, magazines and newspapers for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.

Resources for Preserving the Built Environment

Architectural Style Guides
A visual introduction to architectural styles common in North America.
Building Technology Heritage Library
Searchable collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides, sponsored by the Internet Archive Text Archive.
Downtown and Mainstreet Revitalization Organizations
Searchable directory of all downtown and mainstreet revitalization organizations in the US and Canada.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscape. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
How to Complete the National Register Form
Downloadable PDF from National Park Service with instructions for completing the National Register nomination form.
MainStreet.org
Information on the Main Street Program from the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
National Center for Preservation Technology and Training
NCPTT advances the application of science and technology to historic preservation. Working in the fields of archeology, architecture, landscape architecture and materials conservation, the Center accomplishes its mission through training, education, research, technology transfer and partnerships. Website offers access to publications, programs, training and grant opportunities.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Website provides information on registering properties, searching for listed properties, publications, laws and regulations, and links to additional resources.
National Register of Historic Places Program: Publications
National Register Bulletin series provides guidance on evaluating, documenting, and listing different types of historic places.
National Register of Historic Places Program: Sample Nominations
These are good examples of listed properties in the National Register of Historic Places.
National Register Photo Policy Factsheet
Specifications for creating photographs submitted with National Register nomination forms.
Preservation Briefs
Preservation Briefs help historic building owners recognize and resolve common problems prior to work. The briefs are especially useful to Historic Preservation Tax Incentives Program applicants because they recommend methods and approaches for rehabilitating historic buildings that are consistent with their historic character.
Preservation Directory.com
The online resource for historic preservation, building restoration and cultural resource management in the United States & Canada. Website provides links to SHPOs, downtown and mainstreet groups, historic houses for sale, grant and other funding sources, preservation and restoration professionals and preservation publications.
Preservation Tech Notes
Preservation Tech Notes provide practical information on traditional practices and innovative techniques for successfully maintaining and preserving cultural resources.
Preserve & Protect
Links to preservation resources on the web, with an emphasis on New York State.
Researching a Historic Property
National Park Service Bulletin by Eleanor O'Donnell, 1991, revised 1998.
Secretary's Standards for Rehabilitation
The Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation, codified as 36 CFR 67, are regulatory for the Historic Preservation Tax Incentives program. The Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings and the Guidelines on Sustainability for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings, which assist in applying the Standards, are advisory.

MOBIUS

Materials not available at Kent Library might be found by searching MOBIUS (23 million items from libraries state-wide).

MOBIUS can be accessed from within the catalog by clicking on MOBIUS in the search string or the 'Search MOBIUS' button.

Ordering via MOBIUS requires identifying your cluster (MOBIUS-Southeast Missouri State University) and then entering your name and SØ number. Requested materials take approximately 3 - 5 days to arrive. You will be notified by e-mail when they are in.

How to Remove Window Sashes

A short, instructional video from Preservation Virginia's Restoration Crew--