Research Guides: Historic Preservation: Site Administration

Search the Library Catalog

Interpreting Historic House Museums by Jessica Foy Donnelly
Call Number: 973.07473 In887
Publication Date: 2002
Preventive Conservation for Historic House Museums by Jane Merritt; Julie A. Reilly
Call Number: 363.69 M553p
Publication Date: 2010

To find additional books on historic site administration, search the Kent Library catalog.

Find Articles

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Use these links below to find articles related to site administration in library subscription journals.

You can use and, or, & not to make your search more precise.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window

Resources for Site Administrators

American Association for State and Local History
AASLH "provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful to all Americans." The Website provides information on publications, professional development opportunities, national initiatives, programs and related resources.
Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums
The Association for Living History, Farm and Agricultural Museums serves those involved in living historical farms, agricultural museums and outdoor museums of history and folklife. Website provides information about professional development opportunities, publications, and jobs.
Historic House Museum Affinity Group
Resources for individuals working with historic house museums, including technical leafleats, newsletter, and listserv.
Missouri Department of Natural Resources, State Parks and Historic Sites
Linked list of all state parks and historic sites in the state of Missouri.
Missouri Humanities Council
MHC is a non-profit organization support museums, libraries and other organizations involved in promoting humanities education. Website provides information on available grants and programming.
Museums and Historic Sites featuring First-Person Interpretation
This is a listing of selected public sites that feature first-person interpretation as part of their daily or weekly programming. It is compiled and maintained by Stacy Roth, author of Past Into Present: Effective Techniques for First-Person Historical Interpretation. (Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina Press, 1998).
National Collaborative for Women's History Sites
The National Collaborative for Women’s History Sites (NCWHS) was created in October 2001 by representatives of more than twenty historical sites linked to American women and some twenty others from organizations devoted to preserving women’s history. Website provides links to members organizations and news relevant to member institutions.
PreserveNet
PreserveNet is designed to provide preservationists with a comprehensive database of regularly updated internet resources and current professional opportunities. PreserveNet utilizes the many internet resources of various preservation organizations and maintains a current listing of professional and educational opportunities.
Teaching with Historic Places
Sponsored by the National Park Services, and part of the Heritage Education Services Program, Teaching with Historic Places uses properties listed in the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places to enliven history, social studies, geography, civics, and other subjects. TwHP has created a variety of products and activities that help teachers bring historic places into the classroom.
Telling the Stories: Planning Effective Interpretation Programs for Properties Listed in the National Register of Historic Places Bulletin
National Park Service Publication by Ron Thomson, Interpretive Consultant, Oneonta, New York and Marilyn Harper, Historian, National Park Service, 2000
The American Battlefield Protection Program, NPS
A division of the National Park Service, the American Battlefield Protection Program (ABPP) promotes the preservation of significant historic battlefields associated with wars on American soil.
The Association of Missouri Interpreters
The Association of Missouri Interpreters (AMI) is a professional, non-profit organization that assists and supports the work of individuals and groups engaged in resource interpretation. Members include naturalists, tour guides, historians, environmental educators, and zoo staff. Members work in nature centers, historic sites, state parks, museums, schools, and zoos all over the state of Missouri. AMI is a recognized chapter of the National Association for Interpretation.

An endangered national treasure

In 2011, the National Trust for Historic Preservation named Fort Gaines, located on Dauphin Island in Mobile Bay, Alabama, one of the nation's Top 11 endangered historic sites.

MOBIUS

Materials not available at Kent Library might be found by searching MOBIUS (23 million items from libraries state-wide).

MOBIUS can be accessed from within the catalog by clicking on MOBIUS in the search string or the 'Search MOBIUS' button.

Ordering via MOBIUS requires identifying your cluster (MOBIUS-Southeast Missouri State University) and then entering your name and SØ number. Requested materials take approximately 3 - 5 days to arrive. You will be notified by e-mail when they are in.

Graduate Programs in Public History

Guide to Public History Programs, NCPE

Here is a directory of schools that offer undergraduate and graduate degree programs in public history, with links to information on the individual programs.