Rare Books and Manuscripts in Kent Library: Home

The Rare Book Room is administered through Special Collections and Archives.  For information or access, please contact:

Location: Kent Library, Room 306

Phone: (573) 651-2245

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives

The Rare Book Room (RBR) houses materials that have been classified as too unique or valuable to circulate. These materials include:

• The Charles L. Harrison Collection
• The Brodsky-Faulkner Collection
• The Robert Penn Warren Collection

Some additional books with unique plates and illustrations have been moved from the circulating collection to the protection of the Rare Book Room.

Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:

• Use materials in the Special Collections Reading Room
• Complete a first-time user registration form and present valid photo ID
• Register upon each arrival
• Use pencils or laptops for note-taking
• Leave all bags in provided lockers
• Handle materials as directed by staff

Photocopying and scanning services are available.  Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with Rare Book Room materials.

Individual titles in the Harrison Collection can be located through searching the Kent Library catalog.  Use the Advanced Keyword option to limit your search Location to "SEMO Special Collections."

For information on locating material in the Brodsky-Faulkner or Penn Warren Collection, researchers are encouraged to call or email Special Collections.

University classes, community groups, and schools may schedule Rare Book Room presentations in advance by calling (573) 651-2245.