Research Guides: Special Collections and Archives: Rare Books and Manuscripts

Contact Info:

Kent Library, Room 308

(573) 651-2245 (phone)

(573) 651-2666 (fax)

URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

What is a "rare book"?

ABC for Book Collectors
John Carter's comprehensive reference work of terms pertaining to the anatomy of books and to book collecting.

Do you have an "old book" and wonder what it might be worth?

Here are some websites that can help you learn more about those potentially rare books.

What Makes a Book Rare --Virginia Tech
Short article from the Virginia Culinary Thymes listing criteria that factor into a book's monetary worth.
What Makes a Book Rare? -- National Park Service
Conserve O Gram from the National Park Service that explains various criteria that give books value.
Your Old Book
An excellent guide to what defines a "rare" book.
viaLibri
The world's largest marketplace for old, rare and out-of-print books. A good tool for comparing your "old book" to comparable volumes listed for sale.

What's in the Rare Book Room?

The Rare Book Room (RBR) houses materials that have been classified as too unique or valuable to circulate. These materials include:

The Charles L. Harrison Collection
The Brodsky-Faulkner Collection
The Robert Penn Warren Collection

Some additional books with unique plates and illustrations have been moved from the circulating collection to the protection of the Rare Book Room.

How to access materials

Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:

Use materials in the Special Collections Reading Room
Complete a first-time user registration form and present valid photo ID
Register upon each arrival
Use pencils or laptops for note-taking
Leave all bags in provided lockers
Handle materials as directed by staff

Photocopying and scanning services are available. Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with Rare Book Room materials.

Individual titles in the Harrison Collection can be located through searching the Kent Library catalog. Use the Advanced Keyword option to limit your search Location to "SEMO Special Collections."

For information on locating material in the Brodsky-Faulkner or Penn Warren Collection, researchers are encouraged to call or email Special Collections.

University classes, community groups, and schools may schedule Rare Book Room presentations in advance by calling (573) 651-2245.