Skip to main content

Special Collections and Archives: Home

An overview of the Special Collections and Archives unit of Kent Library, which houses the Regional History Collection, the University Archives and Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Contact Info:

Kent Library, Room 308

(573) 651-2245 (phone)

(573) 651-2666 (fax)

URL: http://library.semo.edu/archives

Email: semoarchives@semo.edu

What's in Special Collections?

Special Collections and Archives at Southeast Missouri State University collects, preserves and makes available for research, historical materials that document the people and history of Southeast Missouri, the Mississippi River Valley region, and the history of Southeast Missouri State University. 

Three core areas make up the department:

  • Southeast Missouri collections
  • University Archives
  • Rare Books and Manuscripts

Who has access?

The resources of Special Collections and Archives are available to the University community, the region, visiting researchers and scholars.

Researchers will be asked to observe the following procedures:

  • Use materials in the Special Collections Reading Room
  • Complete a first-time user registration form and present valid photo ID
  • Register upon each arrival
  • Use pencils or laptops for note-taking
  • Leave all bags in provided lockers
  • Handle materials as directed by staff

Photocopying and scanning services are available.  Digital cameras and handheld scanners are not permitted with archival materials