Research Guides: Dietetics: Books & Articles

Recommended databases

The following databases contain articles on dietetics and nutrition. For a complete list of databases, see the Articles & Databases page on the library's home page.

undefined

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window Business database. Good for researching food service and hospitality topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A good general database from EBSCOhost.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A medical database with a consumer focus. A good source for information about drugs and supplements, among other things.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 19,000 sources from 1950 to the present covering all areas of medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of nutrition and dietetics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
All full text articles on a number of topics in the humanities such as cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General database great for many dietetic topics.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly science, medical, and technology related database.

e-Books

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Use the eBooks Academic Collections database to find, read, and download (if you want to) over 130,000 e-book on a variety of topics, including nutrition, diet, etc.

Finding books

Use the Kent Library catalog to find books, ebooks, DVDs, government documents, and other materials.

Keyword searches allow you to use your own words as search terms.

Sample keyword searches:

food science
nutrition AND statistics
women AND nutrition AND requirements
diet AND supplements

Subject heading searches use Library of Congress subject headings and are a great way to find all the books on your topic.

Sample subject headings:

Dietary Supplements
Dietetics
Food Analysis
Nutrition Children

Sampling of Books in Kent Library

American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide
Call Number: 641.56314 D958a4 (located in Stacks, 4th floor)
ISBN: 9780470912072
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 0123847303
Publication Date: 2014
Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process
Call Number: 615.854 K8687 2012 (located in Stacks, 4th floor)
ISBN: 9781437722338
Publication Date: 2012

Browsing

Until Kent Library's collection is completely converted from the Dewey Decimal Classification System to the Library of Congress Classification System, it may be helpful to know "call numbers" for both classifications. Examples of each type of call number are as follows:

Library of Congress Classification

TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply

TX642-840 Cooking

TX851-885 Dining-room service

TX901-946.5 Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service

TX950-953 Taverns, barrooms, saloons

TX955-985 Building operation and housekeeping

TX1100-1105 Mobile home living

TX1110 Recreational vehicle living

Dewey Decimal Classification

362.176 Nutritional Services (special diets)
612.3 Nutrition and digestion
613.2 Dietetics and Applied Nutrition
641.1 Applied Nutrition
664 Food Technology