Skip to main content

UI100- The Mathematics of Art: Archival Research: Home

This guide has been developed to assist students in Laurie Overmann's UI100 class entitled "The Mathematics of Art." This guide will provide resources that will help students do archival research for their group presentation.

How to Use this Guide

This guide has been developed to assist students in Laurie Overmann's UI100 class entitled "The Mathematics of Art." This guide will provide resources to will help students conduct archival research for their group presentation of Southeast Missouri State University Buildings. 

Each tab on this guide illustrates different types of resource that will be helpful for your research project. 

The Reference Book tab highlights books about University history and the history of the Southeast Missouri region. These books will help you put your particular University building in context. Know that you may find these books BOTH on the 4th floor of Kent Library and in Special Collections and Archives on the 3rd floor of Kent. 

The Archival Materials tab provides information about particular archival collections in which you will find information about your building. These collections include primary sources such as correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, legders and journals. These collections do not leave the archives, so it is important to make time to use them when the archives is open. 

The final tab, Newspaper & Electronic Resources, shows you how to use different electronic sources, like websites and blogs, to do archival research. Newspapers are also a great way to find important information out about your building.

 

Contact Info

Please feel free to contact me for research assistance or more in-depth help. We are always happy to help student researchers in the archives. 

Special Collections and Archives is located in: 

Room 306 Kent Library (Third Floor) 

573- 651-2245 

Website of Special Collections and Archives: library.semo.edu/service-areas/special-collections-and-archives​

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am to 4:30pm

Subject Guide

Roxanne Dunn's picture
Roxanne Dunn
Contact:
Kent Library
One University Plaza
MS 4600
Cape Girardeau, MO
573-986-7446